Selected Images
Scope Note
In terms of the housing focus area we have decided to encapsulate the resources that we believe can help planners with creating, ensuring affordable access, and equitable future of housing. Los Angeles has a long, contested history of forced displacement of communities that people have created and sustained homes, as seen with the Chavez Ravine and Bronzeville/ Little Tokyo neighborhoods, along with battles against gentrification, a lack of dignified supportive housing for our unhoused neighbors, and protections for low-income renters.
Databases for Housing Research
In addition to the interdisciplinary databases recommended in the articles page, see this list of databases containing articles related to housing.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
