Building Your Citation Library
At the beginning of the research process, it’s important to implement systems to track the different articles and resources that you are drawing on. In these next tabs you will find two softwares that help you track, organize, annotate, and cite your sources.
Introducing Browzine
Browzine is a UCLA Library licensed browsing and reading tool that allows for access to complete, scholarly journals within the UCLA library catalog. Browzine makes journal exploration simple and features a personal 64 journal library shelf. More information on Browzine and how to begin using it can be found in our Browzine Libguide.
Urban Planning Related Journals to Get You Started (Note: not all journals will be available through Browzine):
Introducing Zotero
Zotero is a free citation management system that links with a web browser extension to help collect, download, and organize sources. The software’s folder structure makes project management easy, allowing you to annotate PDFs, attach notes, original tags, and automatically generate bibliographies. For more information on Zotero and how to start using it in your research we suggest our Zotero Libguide and WI+RE tutorial.
Interdisciplinary Article Databases
Below you will find interdisciplinary databases that contain broad coverage of content relevant to a variety of urban planning topics. We believe these databases serve as exploratory tools for a well-rounded, holistic perspective on the direction, impact, and effects of urban planning policies. For more narrowly focused resources, we suggest taking a look at the focus areas tabs.
- America: History & LifeProvides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes indexing information abstracted from over 1,700 journals published worldwide.
- Annual ReviewsBibliographic essays reviewing and summarizing the year's scholarship in specific fields, highlighting context, significance, and points of consensus or controversy. UCLA subscribes to only a subset of the Annual Reviews titles available, mostly in the social and life sciences.
- APA PyschoInfoAbstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- California State GeoportalThe California State Geoportal is a centralized geographic open data portal, which includes authoritative data and applications from a multitude of California state entities. The portal runs on the ESRI ArcGIS Online Hub platform, which provides many tools to access and view data and maps. It also enables users to tap into the broader ESRI ArcGIS Online suite of tools, either with a free public account or with a paid subscription account.
- Census DataData.census.gov is the new platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so users spend less time searching for data and content, and more time using it.
- Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)The leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards.
- Engineering VillageGives students easy access to engineering-specific knowledge, terminology, technical standards, and the latest developments and trends.
- JSTORFull text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Material ConneXionA unique and comprehensive resource currently comprised of more than 4,500 materials and processes, and growing at a rate of more than 30 materials per month. The information, including high-quality photographs, and company/vendor contact information is also placed into our digital database that can be accessed online.
- MunicodeConsists of local government codes of ordinances from around United States. Also includes links to related organizations.
- Neighborhood Change DatabaseContains nationwide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000 and 2010 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Census Bureau data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years. Contains long form census data with details such as population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables.
- Nexis UniFull-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Urban StudiesDeveloped cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies in Urban Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndex to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
- PubMedAccess to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences, and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases. Indexes articles from about 3,900 journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health sciences and life sciences.
consumer health, Entrez, MEDLINE, AIDSLINE, HealthSTAR, HISTLINE, nucleotides, genomes. - RAND PublicationsSearch the archive of over 17,000 RAND documents dating back to 1948.
- Social ExplorerVisualize and interact with data, maps, charts, reports. With datasets relevant to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime, and more.
- Social Services AbstractsCitations (with abstracts) of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1980-present.
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
- Web of ScienceA multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsCitations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy.