Selected Images
Scope Note
We have decided to merge the spheres of environmental planning and sustainability into this focus area that focuses on the science, engineering, technology, and psychological effects of climate-focused urban planning. As explained in this Environment article this planning focuses on increasing sustainable buildings, access to green spaces, water conservation, and local food systems. As shown through the selected images, it is important to ground ourselves in the history of Los Angeles and southern California in its history of oil extraction, which continues to dispropotionately plague the health of Black and Brown communities. Along with the violence of water management and access to the Southlands, of which has contributed to forced dispossession of lands to Native people's such as the Paiute.
Databases for Environmental Research
In addition to the interdisciplinary databases recommended in the articles page, see this list of databases containing environmental research.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowThe fundamental research tool in economics with bibliographic citations, and some abstracts, to the international literature on economics since 1969. Subjects covered include book reviews, business, economics, finance, industry and statistics.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowOver 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowCollection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles which include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics: global warming, green building, ecology, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
