Theater

Look up a play, click on the full record, then choose "Find this play in a book." This assists in showing if a play is published in a collection. You can also search for plays on a particular topic or genre.

Some plays are published in American Theatre and included full text by the database, but most of the content found here will be reviews and critical articles. Search by title or author for best results.

The Heinemann African Studies Series (AWS), founded in 1962, covers a broad historical range of modern African fiction, from novels, poetry, and drama by black African authors. Most of the works in the series come from English-speaking countries in western, southern, and eastern Africa, but there are also a number of volumes translated from other languages.

Online collection of American dramatic writing. Contains full text of more than 1,100 plays from the colonial period to the beginning of the 20th century.

Full text plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Contains approximately 1600 plays by 200 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Includes full text of plays and reference works, as well as streaming audio and video of performances. UCLA subscribes to the modules: Core Collection, Asian Theatre Video, Aurora Metro Books, BBC Drama Films, British, American, and Australian Video Collection, Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection, Critical Studies and Performance Practice, Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy, European Theatre Video Collection, L.A. Theatre Works, Maxine Peake as Hamlet, National Theatre Collections, Nick Hern Books Modern Plays, Oberon Books, Playwrights Canada Press, RSC Live Collections, Shakespeare in the Present, Shakespeare Video Collection, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen, Shakespeare's Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 1, Shakespeare's Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 2, Shakespeare's Heroes and Villains, Shakespeare in the Present, Stage on Screen, Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection, TCG Plays, Theatre Performance and Practice Video Library.

Contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth. It covers the dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays and mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas.

Film Scripts Online (volumes I and II) contains full text of copyrighted screenplays, with additional information on scenes, characters and individuals.

Plays, prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the US. The vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present. About 30% of the database is previously unpublished or rare materials.

Also known as LION. An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature.

Search and discovery for plays using indexing terms for facets like playwright demographics, cast information, themes, etc. The database provides details about playwrights and creative works (generally unpublished), and includes full text for selected plays.

Full text of plays by American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the 20th century, information about the plays and their production, and biographical data. Represents tribes across the United States and Canada. Also includes issues of the Native playwrights' newsletter.

Full text plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The collection begins with the works of Mercy Otis Warren and Susanna Haswell Rowson in colonial times and spans the 19th and 20th centuries to the present.

UCLA selectively licenses individual e-book titles from E-book Central. Titles are searchable from the ProQuest platform and in the UCLA Library Catalog. Formerly called ebrary.

A reference source that covers multiple aspects of the international theater, including full text of major reference materials and records for individual plays, people, theaters, productions, and production companies. Also includes images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other ephemera. Formerly titled North American Theatre Online.