Skip to main content

Film and Video Collections

About Film and Video Collections at UCLA

Physical film and video collections at UCLA are not all located in the same place, and are administered by different units on campus. The repositories listed house collections that are publicly cataloged or listed. Each has a different access policy, so it is recommended that researchers check individual websites even though some holdings appear in the UCLA Library Catalog.

Instructional Media Collections and Services

UCLA's central resource for the collection and maintenance of instructional media; collection of several thousand videotapes, laserdiscs, DVDs, CD-ROMs, films, and slide/tape modules as well as selected department, media labs, and study center collections

IMCS is administered by the Office of Instructional Development, and the collection is funded for instructional on-campus use. Although many holdings are also listed in the UCLA Library Catalog, researchers can search the more up to date IMCS catalog available directly from their website. Students must use these videos on site, although some will be available for streaming via course reserves.

UCLA Film and Television Archive

UCLA Film & Television Archive holds more than 350,000 films and television programs produced from the 1890s to the present. The collection includes independent and studio-produced shorts and feature films, documentaries, local and network TV programming, commercials, news and public affairs broadcasts, LGBT media, and 27 million feet of newsreels produced between 1919 and 1971.

The Archive's catalog of holdings is distinct from that of the Library, and can be accessed via their homepage. Not all of the Archive's holdings are listed in the catalog, so contacting the Archive Research & Study Center directly about holdings and access is recommended.

News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection - UCLA Film & Television Archive

UCLA Film & Television Archive’s News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection consists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003.  This collection is separate from the Archive's main collection (which also includes news and public affairs programs).  NAPA broadcasts are searchable in a separate catalog, distinct from the Archive's main catalog. For more information, visit the Archive's NAPA webpage.

UCLA Library

Individual libraries at UCLA hold some selectively acquired audiovisual material. These libraries include: Music, East Asian, Biomedical, Law (for Law students only), Arts, YRL, and SRLF. Limit to "Visual Materials" in the Library Catalog to search thse titles. Access and loan options vary by library.

Streaming Video Databases: Documentary and Performance

Databases with streaming video content, including documentaries, performance documentation, and more.

Streaming Video Databases: News

Major databases with streaming news video content.