Humanities & Social Sciences Librarian
Getting Started
These resources are great ways to locate texts, such as the Arden Third Series editions located on Drama online, performances, and Shakespeare scholarship.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2009. Contains over 122,867 annotated entries. - Drama Online — Bloomsbury This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of plays and reference works, as well as streaming audio and video of performances. UCLA subscribes to the modules: Core Collection, Asian Theatre Video, Aurora Metro Books, BBC Drama Films, British, American, and Australian Video Collection, Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection, Critical Studies and Performance Practice, Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy, European Theatre Video Collection, L.A. Theatre Works, Maxine Peake as Hamlet, National Theatre Collections, Nick Hern Books Modern Plays, Oberon Books, Playwrights Canada Press, RSC Live Collections, Shakespeare in the Present, Shakespeare Video Collection, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen, Shakespeare's Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 1, Shakespeare's Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 2, Shakespeare's Heroes and Villains, Shakespeare in the Present, Stage on Screen, Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection, TCG Plays, Theatre Performance and Practice Video Library. - Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DT+ includes streaming video of plays, dance, and performances produced on the contemporary British and American stage, interviews with professional practitioners and masterclasses on technique, study guides on classic works, and pedagogical guides for the classroom and theater production.
- New Oxford Shakespeare: Modern Critical Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Includes online access to the Modern Critical Edition (with modern spelling), the Critical Reference Edition (with original spelling), and an Authorship Companion.
Conducting Shakespeare Research
This research guide will point you toward online research resources and strategies available to you as scholars doing Shakespeare research at UCLA. You will also find help locating performance recordings in our library catalogs.
Visit this guide regularly to check for upcoming library workshops and events, as well as newly acquired resources to help you in your research process.
If your area of research is comparative, consider also contacting the appropriate area studies guide or subject specialist.
Westall, Richard. William Shakespeare between Tragedy and Comedy. 1825. CC-BY-NC-ND Image Courtesy of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust. http://collections.shakespeare.org.uk/search/museum/strst-sbt-1999-49/from_treasures/2#
Quick Links and Related Subject Guides
- UCLA Library Locations and HoursClick on a location for details, scroll down for lists of services and resources.
- Other Collections at UCLAThese are collections located within departments and research units outside of the official UCLA Library system.
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.
- UCLA Department of EnglishWebsite of the Department of English at UCLA.
- UCLA Department of Comparative LiteratureWebsite of the Department of Comparative Literature of UCLA.