Tip
When searching in article databases for the name of a play, put quotes around the full title (i.e. "Importance of Being Earnest"). This will search the title as a phrase, rather than random keywords.
BrowZine
- BrowZine Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
BrowZine allows you to browse selected scholarly journals available from the UCLA Library or from open sources on your computer, tablet, iPhone or Android smartphone. Access the web version here, and learn more about both the app and BrowZine features via the Library guide.
Journal and Magazine Article Databases
Note that many of these sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold UC-eLinks button to do an automated search to find the full text, or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search platform for over 120 databases, from the AFI Catalog to Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Includes scholarly articles, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, as well as newspapers and dissertations.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes major journals across multiple disciplines, and includes selected full text content. - Artforum Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The backfile of Artforum, a magazine for coverage of international contemporary art. Covers June 1962 to 2020. Coverage spans all forms of contemporary art, including painting, sculpture, installation, body art, video/audio art, performance art, and more. - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From Proquest, this digital archive includes complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000 (some titles are still being added to the database). Includes Variety, Screen International, Picturegoer, and more. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as LION. An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2009. Contains over 122,867 annotated entries.
Databases with Articles, Overviews, and Biographies
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online. - Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that provides access to the literary criticism collections Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism (CMLC), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Drama Criticism (DC), Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Shakespeare Criticism (SC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC).
Print Article Indexes and Reprints
Despite the number of article databases and online content now available, several important print indexes, bibliographies, and facsimile reprints provide crucial access to early film periodicals. In some cases, there are additional copies of these books in the UCLA Library.
