Search Google Books
UC Library Search
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
WorldCat
WorldCat is a union catalog that searches across the collections of many libraries both in the U.S. and worldwide. There is both a subscription version of the catalog from FirstSearch, as well as a freely available web version. However, WorldCat does not list the holdings of all international collections and archives, so researchers are encouraged to also explore the individual catalogs and finding aids of relevant institutions.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
- WorldCat.org This link opens in a new windowFreely available version of the OCLC combined catalog of books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide.
Finding Book Chapters
Many books in the arts and humanities are edited volumes of essays by different authors, or they contain information on a number dramatists or productions. Library catalogs do not always reveal these contents easily, so the following tools can be used to help reveal relevant information in books.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Selected Online Books
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks, now a part of Oxford Academic, provide review articles which summarize and analyze current research and trends in a given discipline. UCLA subscribes to most Oxford Handbooks Online, excluding a few individual titles. - Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate and other imprints. Some CRC Press handbooks can also be accessed via this particular site.
- A Companion to Twentieth-Century DramaEbook version of the introductory volume.
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 2000 University of California Press books covering a range of topics. More recent online publications from UC Press can be searched for in the UCLA Library Catalog. On the Advanced Search screen, search for University of California Press in Publication Information and limit to online. Formerly eScholarship Editions.
- Internet Archive: eBooks and TextsScanned public domain books from numerous research libraries, including some from the UC system.
- Open LibrarySelected scanned online books from the Internet Archive, with additional searchability.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Up to date editions online of programming and computer manuals. Includes guidebooks on iMovie, Photoshop, and more.
