Newspapers and News Broadcasts
Newspapers and news broadcasts (both current and historical) are a primary source. Primary sources provide first-hand testimony or direct evidence about a subject. Primary sources are created by witnesses or recorders who experienced the events or conditions being documented. Often these sources (e.g. newspapers and news broadcasts) are created at the time when the events or conditions are occurring, but primary sources can also include autobiographies, memoirs, and oral histories recorded later. Primary sources are characterized by their content, not their format (microfilm, digital, published, or original).
For more news sources, see the News guide.
Online News Collections
See also Historical Newspapers tab for more online news archives.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text from more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Contains articles as early as 1970, but the bulk of the coverage is from 1991 to the present. - American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. - AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AP Newsroom (formerly AP Images) contains millions of photographs dating from 1826 to present day from the Associated Press. Includes thousands of graphics, audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present.
- The Big Index of Global NewspapersA public website that links to newspapers and other news sources from around the world, organized by country.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles since 1959 from over 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Includes Los Angeles Sentinel and La Opinión. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US and international business news and information and general news from some 31,000+ sources (including Barron's, The Wall Street Journal, and The Wall Street Journal Online), spanning 26 languages and more than 200 countries. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text of articles in newspapers and periodicals for the last 20 years. (Only contains latest 6 months of LA Times.) Includes major news wire services and transcripts of broadcast news. Special sections for business, legal, and biographical news. Formerly LexisNexis Academic. - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided. - ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press. - UCLA Library Broadcast NewsScape This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized television news programs from cable and broadcast sources in the Los Angeles area (2005-present) as well as news programs from other domestic, international, and online sources (2004-present). Includes both streaming media and searchable closed caption text. Use of UCLA VPN for off-campus access is required. - Universal Database of Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, and Ukraine Newspapers (UDB-EUR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Important periodicals published in European nations which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian. - Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and newspapers from former Soviet republics. The database consists of titles from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tadjikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. - Universal Database of Russian/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT-RUS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online versions of publications from the major Russian statistics agency Goskomstat Rossii and its regional statistics agencies, Statkomitet SNG, and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union. Statistical yearbooks, monthly analytical reports, regional statistical information, and annual statistical abstracts. - Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming, including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
- WISENEWS 慧科新聞WiseNews is a newspaper database based in Taiwan, which provides hundreds of newspapers published in Taiwan, Hong Kong, mainland China and some other parts of the world.
- World News Connection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated and English language news compiled from foreign media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events from 1995 through 31 December 2013. Includes FBIS Reports from 2002-2005.
Historical Online News Archives
Historical newspapers are a great primary resource. Many have been digitized and the full-text is searchable. Once you get to a website with the links below, you may need to read the help screen to learn how to search that particular website. If a newspaper has not been digitized, you may still find it on microfilm and will have to search it manually.
- Accessible Archives Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UCLA's historical sources include 19th-century African American Newspapers (The Christian Recorder, The Colored American, Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, The National Era, The North Star, Provincial Freeman, Weekly Advocate); Godey's Lady's Book (pt.2-3); The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog; and Pennsylvania Newspaper Record. - African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features 280 newspapers from 35 states published for or by African Americans, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—titles include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds more. See also African American Newspapers Series 2. - African American Newspapers, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1. Published in 22 states and the District of Columbia, titles include Frederick Douglass’s New National Era (Washington, DC), Washington Tribune (Washington, DC), Chicago Bee (Chicago, IL), The Louisianian (New Orleans, LA), The Pine and Palm (Boston, MA), National Anti-Slavery Standard (New York, NY), New York Age (New York, NY), Harlem Liberator (New York, NY), North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate (Weldon, NC), Southern News (Richmond, VA) and more. See also See also African American Newspapers Series 1. - African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the continent during the 19th and early 20th centuries. From Algeria to Angola, Zambia to Zimbabwe, this resource chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
- African Newspapers: The British Library Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection features 64 newspapers from throughout Africa, all published before 1901. Originally archived by the British Library.
- Amateur Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Amateur publications that were written, edited, and published primarily by young people, aged 12-20, during the second half of the 19th century, this archive features tens of thousands of issues, and includes editorials, original short fiction, essays, poetry, and more.
- America's Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
More than 1,000 US historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states, covering virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes Early American Newspapers Series 1, 1690-1876.
- American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. - American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
Open Access collection of newspapers produced by people who have been incarcerated. Includes two of the first prison publications, Forlorn Hope and Supporter, with more than 350 titles identified for inclusion.
- Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of newspapers, books, ephemera, broadsides, pamphlets, government publications, and more, detailing life in 17th-, 18th-, and 19th-century America. Includes America's Historical Imprints; Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876; America's Historical Newspapers; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980. - Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues concerning gender and sexuality, and impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes newsletters and newspapers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more. Contributing repositories include: Kinsey Institute, British Library, Lesbian Herstory, Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, National Library of Medicine, and more. UCLA provides access to Parts I and II (LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940), Part III (Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century), Part IV (International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture), and Part VI (Community and Identity in North America). - Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content pertaining to US Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times to 1960. Includes historical articles, books, broadsides, newspapers and pamphlets in both Spanish and English. - Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic American civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare books and newspapers are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included. - Associated Press Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized archives of the Associated Press, including news features, internal communications, U.S. City bureaus, Middle East and European bureaus, and some images. - British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society from the 18th-20th century. UCLA has access to parts 1-5.
- California Digital Newspaper CollectionOver 5,460,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers. Click on Help to see how to search this database.
- California Eagle (Los Angeles)A major African American newspaper in Los Angeles from 1879 through 1964. The microfilm has been digitized by the Internet Archive, which has its own search platform.
- Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery with a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog: NewspapersNewspaper holdings include over 16,000 titles, more than 10,000 of which are published outside the US. CRL endeavors to collect extensive and, whenever possible, complete runs of newspaper titles, and its holdings of some titles are the most complete in existence. As a member of CRL, UCLA students and faculty can borrow any of these titles on interlibrary loan.
- Central Daily News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Central Daily News was first published in Shanghai in February 1928, and has been the official news media for the KMT (Kuomintang) government for years. This online database covers page image access from 1928 to 2006.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersDigital project from the Library of Congress including online access to newspapers published from from 1789-1963.
- Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Described by the New Yorker as "the newspaper that rules Britain," the Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, regularly changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. Its website is among the most visited news sites in the world. The Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 includes more than one hundred years of this major UK national newspaper, viewable in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories, and images that capture twentieth-century culture and society. - Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new windowIncludes papers promoting and opposing white supremacy, published mainly in the 1920s. This database brings together local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the US. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities. See also the project's context page.
- Financial Times Historical Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable facsimile run of the daily business newspaper, from 1888-2016. - Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A cross-search platform of 21 databases available from the Gale Group, including historical newspapers (formerly NewsVault), The Making of Modern Law, U.S. Declassified Documents Online, among others. They can be searched as a group or as a selected subset. - Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GPA encompasses newspapers in more than 30 languages and will ultimately include titles from over 125 countries. Wherever possible, titles are presented in their complete runs from the first issue. First collection Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers
- Google News ArchiveIncludes scanned full text of historical newspapers, from select local and national papers.
- Harper's Weekly 1857-1912 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912. - Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compilation of hundreds of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American PressHistoric Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
- Historical Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Palmer's Index to the (London) Times, 1790-1905, with Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870; The Official Index to the [London] Times, 1906-1980; and The Historical Index to the New York Times, 1851-1923. For more complete full-text access and searching, use the ProQuest Historical Newspapers Online for the New York Times and the Times (London) Digital Archive.
- Illinois Digital Newspaper CollectionsDigitized historical issues of smaller press newspapers, primarily from IL but also including the New York Clipper and other U.S. and Canadian titles.
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes every published issue, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003. Illustrated London News was the world's first pictorial weekly newspaper, and it contains work by artists and draughtsmen to cover wars, royal events, scientific invention, and exploration from the Victorian era through the early 21st century. - Independent Historical Archive, 1986-2016 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Independent is a British online publisher of news that was established in 1986 as a politically independent national morning printed newspaper published in London. Nicknamed the Indy, it began as a broadsheet and changed to tabloid format in 2003 The last printed edition was published on Saturday 26 March 2016, leaving only the online edition. - Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowFull text of more than 1000 open access alternative publications from the 1960s-1980s covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, LGBTQ+ activists, and more.
- Integrum Profi Central Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
INTEGRUM™ Profi is the largest archive of mass-media sources from Russia and the former Soviet Union with a range of analytical tools that help to draw the digital portrait of Russia and the ex-USSR countries. The archive contains Moscow and Russian regional newspapers and magazines, on-line, TV and radio sources as well as media sources from the CIS and some other countries with the archive of some of them back to the late 1980s - early 1990s. All the documents can be automatically translated into English. Today the archive contains 120,000 sources and their number is constantly growing. - International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete run of the paper from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times. - Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of many Irish newspapers, including both historical and current content. - Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 under its director-general, Lord Reith. The intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine, Radio Times. Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks -- initially on radio, but in later years television as well -- one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. - Mirror Historical Archive, 1903-2000 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1903, the Mirror plays a pivotal role in the history of journalism. Peaking in 1967, with a daily circulation of 5.25 million, the newspaper has had a history full of highs and lows. Today, it is the only mainstream left-wing tabloid remaining in the UK. Gale's Mirror Historical Archive, 1903-2000 features more than 800,000 pages of brand-new, full text searchable, scans of the complete run of the Mirror from 1903-2000, including the Sunday Mirror. - Moscow News Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper's short-lived sister publication: Moscow Daily News (1932-1938). - Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the US. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and Antebellum-era life. - North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists (1850-1951) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the largest British-founded press agency in Shanghai, searches a number of historical Chinese and English newspapers. Titles include The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser, Hu Bao, Han Bao, and Xiao Xian Bao. Select English or Chinese interface from the drop down list at the upper right corner. Limited to two simultaneous users. - Novoe Russkoe Slovo Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Novoe russkoe slovo (New Russian Word) was first New York. Published initially as Russkoe slovo with pro-Communist leanings, the newspaper underwent changes a decade later, in 1920. First it changed the name by adding Novoe (or New) to Russkoe slovo and secondly and perhaps most importantly it shed its pro-Communist sympathies establishing itself as the newspaper of the Russian émigré community in New York and beyond. - Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things – from boys rolling a tyre, to a view of a postwar bedsit, to young women on a rollercoaster – all caught in a single moment in time. - Pravda Archive, 1959-1996 Twentieth-Century Global Perspectives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles published by Pravda during the Cold War and the years immediately following, from 1959 to 1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA
- Pravda Digital Archive 1912-2009
- This link opens in a new window
Historical full text of the Soviet/Russian newspaper (most content is in Russian language only).
- Pravda Ukrainy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pravda Ukrainy (originally Sovetskaia Ukraina) was a Russian-language Soviet Ukrainian daily and a newspaper of record, serving as the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine and Supreme Soviet of the Ukrainian SSR. Covers 1938-2014. - ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Search all historical African American newspapers from Proquest to which UCLA subscribes.
- Rafu Shimpo, Los Angeles Japanese Daily News 羅府新報 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Rafu Shimpo is the longest running Japanese American newspaper in the United States. The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California. - Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Rand Daily Mail, published daily in Johannesburg, is a title that pioneered popular journalism in South Africa. It was one of the first newspapers to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall. - Sacramento Bee: Historical and Current (1857-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857 - current. - San Francisco Chronicle: Historical and Current (1865-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the San Francisco Chronicle from 1865 - current. - Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to digital facsimiles of the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. - Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format. - Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. - Sovetskaia Kul'tura Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to Kulʹtura (Culture), a Russian weekly newspaper previously published under the titles: Rabochiĭ i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952) and Sovetskai︠a︡ kulʹtura (1953-1991). Throughout the years the newspaper articles reviewed major events in Russian cultural life, in literature, theater, cinematography and arts. - Sovetskaia Ukraina Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In Kyiv, Sovetskaia Ukraina (later Pravda Ukrainy) was a Russian-language Soviet Ukrainian daily and a newspaper of record, serving as the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine and Supreme Soviet of the Ukrainian SSR. The newspaper was the Ukrainian Communist Party’s leading print media agent in the dissemination of the party’s opinions about politics, culture, economics and other issues. - Soviet Cinema Online: Periodicals and Newspapers, 1918-1942 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting an interesting period in the history of Russian Film. Part I: Journals online, number of titles: 27. Part II: Newspapers online, number of titles: 20. - Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from The Sunday Times, London from 1822-2016. Although similar in title, Sunday Times is a distinct newspaper with no editorial connection to The Times London. - Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 has over 1 million pages of content and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. The archive offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years. - Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2014. - UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowRare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.
- Universal Database of Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, and Ukraine Newspapers (UDB-EUR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Important periodicals published in European nations which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian. - Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and newspapers from former Soviet republics. The database consists of titles from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tadjikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. - U.S. Hispanic Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites, and blogs from US publishers in Spanish or English. Includes full contents of U.S. Hispanic Newsstand. - World Newspaper Archive (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American, African, Latin American, and South Asian newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. UCLA subscribes to a subset of this collection.
- ZEFYS: Historical German Newspapers OnlineOnline newspaper portal for the Berlin State Library (Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin = SBB), with digitized German language newspapers from the late 19th Century-1940s.
Local News—Southern California
The UCLA Library has many newspapers in its collections that have not been digitized. They are not easily searchable in the UCLA Library Catalog if you do not know the title of the newspaper. If you are looking for newspapers from a specific city, you can search WorldCat via Firstsearch (requires the UCLA VPN from off-campus to access) and limit to newspapers in the UCLA Library. The search strategy to use is:
- Enter the city (e.g., los angeles) in the search box and select Publisher location from the drop-down menu.
- Limit the search to Serial Publications
- Limit availability to
- Do the search, then select the Subtype Newspapers.
The results will be a list of newspapers from the publisher location searched.
Patrons can also use the freely available web version of WorldCat to search for newspapers and periodicals in library collections.
Selected Southern California newspapers are listed below:
- California Newspaper Project (CNP)Based at UC Riverside's Center for Bibliographic Studies and Research, the CNP is a project to identify, describe and preserve California newspapers. It covers over 1,400 repositories, inventorying close to 9,000 California newspapers. The CNP does not hold newspapers in its offices. Its database allows researchers to narrow their contacts to institutions holding the relevant titles.
- California Digital Newspaper CollectionOver 5,460,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers. Click on Help to see how to search this database.
- California Eagle (Los Angeles)A major African American newspaper in Los Angeles from 1879 through 1964. The microfilm has been digitized by the Internet Archive, which has its own search platform.
- Community Advocate (South Gate)Only available on microfilm.
- Daily News (Woodland Hills)Much of the paper's reporting is targeted toward readers in suburban areas of Los Angeles. Special attention is given to high technology, banking, petroleum, aerospace, entertainment, insurance, and the large local universities, UCLA and USC.
- Dominguez News (Carson, Dominguez Hills)Only available on microfilm.
- Herald-Dispatch (Weekend Herald-Dispatch)UCLA has microfilm holdings of this paper from 1964-1981.
- Los Angeles Herald ExaminerAvailable on microfilm. Search the title for earlier years and slight title changes. Previous title: Los Angeles Evening Herald and Express.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Major Black newspaper in Los Angeles, covering May 17, 1934 - Dec 29, 2005. For access to current issues see Ethnic NewsWatch. - Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of the Los Angeles Times, in HTML format. No photos or illustrations. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
Broadcast News Transcripts
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, including transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English. Covers 1941-1996.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) PublicationsTranslations of print and broadcast news, 1996-2004, available on CD-Rom. Years 1941-1996 are online in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
News Broadcasts
- AP Newsreel Archive This link opens in a new windowThe AP Archive, the film and video archive of the Associated Press, curates this YouTube channel featuring newsreel clips from the past and present. Launched in June 2015, the channel is updated daily with content sourced from the AP’s global news network. Covers approximately 1890-present.
- British Pathé NewsreelsApproximately 85,000 streaming titles from British Pathé, a major producer of newsreels during the 20th Century. Covers 1896-1976.
- Hearst Metrotone News Collection (UCLA Film & Television Archive) This link opens in a new windowNewsreels from the UCLA Film & Television Archive. In cooperation with the UCLA Film & Television Archive, the Packard Humanities Institute is developing this website as part of a joint project to make the Hearst newsreel collection more easily accessible to the public. Includes newsreels shown in theatres from 1929 to 1967.
- KTLA News Project (UCLA Film & Television Archive)Clips from the KTLA Newsfilm Collection of local and national news from Los Angeles, California, circa 1958 to 1981. Subjects include national and local politics, civil rights, and social issues.
- Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes streaming video of the full surviving broadcast run to date for Meet the Press (1947-present). - Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This online portal explores the period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. It includes color images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, historical news video, ephemera and memorabilia. - 60 Minutes: 1997-2014 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of the CBS news magazine 60 Minutes for the years 1997–2014. Also includes bonus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning.
- TV News Archive (Internet Archive)Contains 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive News and Public Affairs (NAPA) CollectionConsists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
- UCLA Library Broadcast NewsScape This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized television news programs from cable and broadcast sources in the Los Angeles area (2005-present) as well as news programs from other domestic, international, and online sources (2004-present). Includes both streaming media and searchable closed caption text. Use of UCLA VPN for off-campus access is required. - UCLA Film & Television Archive Catalog This link opens in a new windowIncludes a significant number of television news and public affairs programming ranging from 1949 into the 2000s. For news and public affairs programming prior to 1980, search the general collection. Researchers interested in broadcasts from 1980-2003 should search both the NAPA collection database and the general collection catalog. Search for newsreels as Topic or genre/form search to find thousands of records for unedited newsreel footage.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming, including ABC's Nightline since 1989.