Ethnomusicology

The Australian Archive of Jewish Music (AAJM) is the only archive in the world concerned exclusively with sound, visual and bibliographic materials on the musical cultures of Jewish communities and individuals in Australia and South, East and Southeast Asia. The AAJM was established at Monash University in 1994 under the umbrella of MAMU. While there are Jewish music archives in various parts of the world, the unique quality of the AAJM is its focus on Australia and South, East and Southeast Asia. Collection-building, networking and research has thus far seen the accumulation of over 1000 vinyl discs (78rpm, 45rpm and 33 1/3rpm), hundreds of audio tapes (reel-to-reel and cassette), videotapes, CDs and DVDs, field recordings of interviews and performances, sheet music and scores, and a plethora of documents, nearly all of which fall within our geographic purview. The AAJM has also accepted donations of musical instruments.

Professor Osamu YAMAGUTI, world-renowned ethnomusicologist and expert of Palauan music, has travelled across Palau. Starting from the first visit in 1965-1966 and the following ones in 1989, 1994, 2003 and 2004, Prof. YAMAGUTI visited not only the Palau Main Island but also the outer islands as Sonsorol, Tobi (Hatohobei), Merir, Pulo Anna, and even to the outer islands of Yap (Yap State of FSM), in order to collect traditional music and dance. With 56 open reel tapes, over 1,000 pages of manuscripts, 8mm silent films, and nearly 1,000 photos, the collections include many ancient chants that have been forgotten and are under reconstruction by Palau government now, and are highly considered as precious intangible cultural heritage.

Wangga is a genre of public dance-song from the Daly region of northwest Australia. The site includes 150 wangga song texts, organised into six repertories: four from the Belyuen-based songmen Barrtjap, Muluk, Mandji and Lambudju, and two from the Wadeye-based Walakandha and Ma-yawa wangga groups, which are named after the ancestral song-giving ghosts of the Marri Tjavin and Marri Ammu people respectively.

Music Archive of Monash University (MAMU) is a physical and digital collection of musical instruments, scores, field recordings, puppets and diverse other musical, dance and theatrical materials acquired since the foundation of the University’s Department of Music in 1965.

The NFSA’s mission is to collect, preserve and share Australia’s vibrant and diverse audiovisual culture as embodied by our evolving collection - reflecting who we were, who we are, and who we want to be.

Google collaborated with Anangu Traditional Owners of Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Parks Australia and the Northern Territory Government to capture the park for Street View according to Tjukurpa law. The result is an interactive, audio-visual guided tour, narrated by Sammy Wilson and with song and music by Traditional Owner and Anangu Elder, Reggie Uluru.

Archives New Zealand hold a large amount of audiovisual material in many formats. These include VHS, UMatic, Betacam and other magnetic video formats, as well as a range of audio formats such as reel-to-reel audiotape, mechanical and optical discs.

Archives New Zealand holds around 21,000 reels of film and 1000 videotapes. The majority of these are from the New Zealand National Film Unit which made government funded films from 1942 until 1989. Click on "View Films" to see a selection of films from the Archives.

Archives New Zealand, Te Rua Mahara o te Kāwanatanga is the official guardian of New Zealand's public archives. We gather, store and protect an extremely wide range of material. Our holdings include the originals of the Treaty of Waitangi, government documents, maps, paintings, photographs and film.

Explore oral history, folklore and interview recordings, sheet music, and information on other audio and video media collections, in physical and digital form.

True Echoes is a research project that is reconnecting a rich archive of early sound recordings of Oceanic cultures with the communities from which they originate. True Echoes is centred on digitised wax cylinder recordings from the British Library Sound Archive. The wax cylinder collections include recordings made in Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, New Caledonia and the Torres Strait Islands in Australia between 1898 and 1924. These unique recordings, created using phonographs, are hugely significant as they include early documentation of oral traditions and represent some of the earliest uses of sound in anthropological research. They include music, stories, speeches and many different types of songs; from hunting songs to hymns, lullabies to funeral dirges. True Echoes is working with cultural and research institutions in the region and in the UK to enhance the visibility and accessibility of these collections, ensuring that they are catalogued in ways that are accessible to the communities whose heritage they represent.

The purpose of Ulukau, the Hawaiian Electronic Library, is to make these resources available for the use, teaching, and revitalization of the Hawaiian language and for a broader and deeper understanding of Hawaiʻi.

The loss of a language is a lot more than just the loss of words. It is also the loss of identity, spirituality, cultural knowledge and values. Using the latest 3D animation technology Indigenous stories and languages come to life – records the past, preserves the present, and protects Indigenous languages and knowledge into the future.