Photo Gallery
UCLA Koto Study Group (Yoko Tahara and Bob Brown)
Tsun-Yuen Lui Playing Qin
Mantle Hood with the UCLA Javanese Gamelan Ensemble
UCLA Balafon
Mantle Hood Teaching Gamelan
Mantle Hood Playing Kendang in UCLA Javanese Gamelan Ensemble
UCLA Gamelan Ensemble
Audiovisual Archives and Special Collections — Asia
- Chinese Music Archive of the Chinese University of Hong KongThe Chinese Music Archive (CMA) collection includes books, journals, and a vast variety of audiovisual materials of Chinese music, covering various traditional genres, revolutionary music, and pop music. CMA aims to serve scholars from Hong Kong, Mainland China, Taiwan, and overseas. The audiovisual materials will be digitalized in phases, in order to build a digital archive to facilitate teaching and research on Chinese music.
- Indian Music Experience MuseumThe Indian Music Experience (IME), a non-profit organization, will be dedicated to the advancement of understanding and appreciation of Indian music from the traditional to the contemporary.
- Moving Image and Sound Archives SingaporeThe Audio-Visual Archives (AVA) Division of the National Archives of Singapore (NAS) creates, collects, documents, preserves and disseminates audio-visual materials of national and historical significance.
- Music Research Institute of the Chinese Academy of ArtThe Music Research Institute of Chinese Academy of Arts is an academy institution which has been regarding the collection, recording, storage, preservation and classification of Chinese traditional and folk music data as its basic task. It has collected 7000 hours of Chinese traditional music acoustic recordings, almost 2000 ancient musical instruments of different nationalities, 50,000 photos, 40,000 gramophone records of Chinese and foreign music, 150,000 books on music and music scores.
- Sangeet Natak Akademi - National Academy of Music, Dance and DramaThe Sangeet Natak Akademi was created by a resolution of the (then) Indian Ministry of Education on May 31st, 1952. Since its inception the Akademi has functioned as the apex body of the performing arts in India, preserving and promoting the vast intangible heritage of India's diverse culture expressed in the forms of music, dance and drama.
- School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) LibraryThe School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) is a college of the University of London and the only Higher Education institution in the UK specializing in the study of Asia, Africa and the Near and Middle East. SOAS Library specializes in the collection of archives, manuscripts and other primary source materials relating to Africa, Asia, the Middle East, Europe, the Americas, the Caribbean, the South Pacific and Australasia.