Photo Gallery
Selected Reports in Ethnomusicology
Reference Resources
Reference sources are works that students can check for subject overviews and introductory information. They may also contain more detailed information, like bibliographies, discographies, etc. Types of reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, discographies, and bibliographies.
Ethnomusicology and Music Reference
- African American Music Reference
This link opens in a new window
African American Music Reference offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. Brings together 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. - Encyclopedia of Anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. - Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
- This link opens in a new window
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. Its founding editors were two UCLA Ethnomusicology professors, Timothy Rice and James Porter.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources, including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001) and updates.
- SAGE International Encyclopedia of Music and Culture
- This link opens in a new window
This reference set presents key concepts in the study of music in its cultural context and provides an introduction to the discipline of ethnomusicology, its methods, concerns, and its contributions to knowledge and understanding of the world's musical cultures, styles, and practices.