Photo Gallery
UCLA Music of India Ensemble
Melograph Printout Next To Western and Japanese Notation of Hichiriki Melody
UCLA Javenese Gamelan Ensemble
Mantle Hood Playing Kendang in UCLA Javanese Gamelan Ensemble
UCLA Mariachi Ensemble
Robert Berkman at the Pianola
UCLA Music and Dance of Ghana
Helen Rees
Nazir Ali Jairazbhoy
Jacqueline Cogdell DjeDje
UCLA Ethnomusicology Faculty
Javanese Rebab Lesson with Mantle Hood
UCLA Korean Court Music Ensemble
Steven Loza
Timothy Rice
Charlotte Heth
James Porter
Mitsuru Yuge Playing Shakuhachi
Robert Bonsu Playing Ashanti Drums
UCLA Gagaku Ensemble
UCLA Indian Music Group
UCLA's Mariachi Uclatlan
UCLA Korean Court Music Ensemble
Robert Bonsu and Robert Ayitee Playing Drums
UCLA Music and Dance of Ghana
Ethnomusicological and Audiovisual Archive Professional Organizations
- Association for Recorded Sound CollectionsFounded in 1966, the Association for Recorded Sound Collections (ARSC) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation and study of sound recordings—in all genres of music and speech, in all formats, and from all periods.
- Association of Moving Image ArchivistsAssociation of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA) is a non-profit professional association established to advance the field of moving image archiving by fostering cooperation among individuals and organizations concerned with the acquisition, description, preservation, exhibition and use of moving image materials.
- Blue Shield InternationalWorking for the protection of the world's cultural heritage by coordinating preparations to meet and respond to emergency situations. The Blue Shield is the cultural equivalent of the Red Cross. It is the protective emblem specified in the 1954 Hague Convention (Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict) for marking cultural sites to give them protection from attack in the event of armed conflict. The Blue Shield network consists of organizations dealing with museums, archives, audiovisual supports, libraries, as well as monuments and sites.
- British Forum for EthnomusicologyThe British Forum for Ethnomusicology (BFE) is an association formerly known as the International Council for Traditional Music (ICTM, UK Chapter). As an Affiliate National Committee to the ICTM, their aim is to advance the study, practice, documentation, preservation and dissemination of traditional music and dance, including folk, popular, classical, urban, and other genres, of all countries.
- Co-ordinating Council of Audiovisual Archives AssociationsCo-ordinating Council of Audiovisual Archives Associations (CCAAA) represents the interests of worldwide professional archive organizations with interests in audiovisual materials including films, broadcast television and radio, and audio recordings of all kinds. CCAAA reflects a broad range of interests across the broadcast media, arts, heritage, education and information sectors.
- Federal Agencies Digitization Guidelines InitiativeStarted in 2007, this is a collaborative effort by federal agencies to define common guidelines, methods, and practices for digitizing historical content. As part of this, two working groups are studying issues specific to two major areas, Still Image and Audio Visual.
- FREEMUSE — Freedom of Musical ExpressionFREEMUSE – THE WORLD FORUM ON MUSIC AND CENSORSHIP is an independent international membership organization which advocates freedom of expression for musicians and composers worldwide. Its guidelines, as they apply specifically to musicians and composers, are based on the principles outlined in the United Nations Declaration of Human Rights.
- International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation CentresThe International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation Centres (IAML) encourages and promotes the activities of music libraries, archives and documentation centres to support and facilitate the realization of projects in music bibliography, music documentation and music library and information science at national and international levels.
- International Association of Sound and Audiovisual ArchivesThe International Association of Sound and Audiovisual Archives (IASA) was established in 1969 in Amsterdam to function as a medium for international co-operation between archives that preserve recorded sound and audiovisual documents.
- International Council for Traditions of Music and DanceThe International Council for Traditions of Music and Dance is a scholarly organization which aims to further the study, practice, documentation, preservation, and dissemination of traditional music and dance of all countries. To these ends the Council organizes World Conferences, Symposia, Colloquia, and Fora, and publishes the Yearbook for Traditional Music and the online Bulletin of the ICTMD. As a non-governmental organization in formal consultative relations with UNESCO and by means of its wide international representation and the activities of its Study Groups, the International Council for Traditions of Music and Dance acts as a bond among peoples of different cultures and thus contributes to the peace of humankind.
- International Council on ArchivesThe International Council on Archives (ICA) is dedicated to the effective management of records and the preservation, care and use of the world's archival heritage through its representation of records and archive professionals across the globe.
- International Federation of Film ArchivesThe International Federation of Film Archives / La Fédération Internationale des Archives du Film (FIAF) brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing films both as cultural heritage and as historical documents.
- International Music CouncilThe International Music Council (IMC), founded in 1949 by UNESCO, is the world's largest network of organizations, institutions and individuals working in the field of music. The International Music Council promotes musical diversity, access to culture for all and unites organizations in some 150 countries worldwide in building peace and understanding among peoples of all cultures and heritage.
- Music Library AssociationFounded in 1931, MLA is the professional organization in the United States devoted to music librarianship and all aspects of music materials in libraries. As of July 1, 2011, MLA is also the United States branch of IAML, the International Association of Music Libraries.
- National Recording Preservation BoardThe National Recording Preservation Board, mandated by the National Recording Preservation Act of 2000, is an advisory group bringing together a number of professional organizations and expert individuals concerned with the preservation of recorded sound. The other two components of the program are the National Recording Registry and a fund-raising Foundation.
- National Recording Preservation Plan, Online ResourcesUseful information about sound related resources around the world, including published articles, notable sound archives and major sound-related publications.
- Society for EthnomusicologyThe Society for Ethnomusicology (SEM) was founded in 1955 to promote the research, study, and performance of music in all historical periods and cultural contexts.
- Society of American ArchivistsFounded in 1936, the Society of American Archivists is North America's oldest and largest national archival professional association. SAA's mission is to serve the educational and informational needs of more than 5,500 individual and institutional members and to provide leadership to ensure the identification, preservation, and use of records of historical value.
- UNESCO Information for All Programme (IFAP)A central concern of UNESCO is the disparity between developed and developing countries. In recent years, a new divide has emerged - the digital divide. The UNESCO Information for All Programme (IFAP) exists to be an advocate for all people on the "wrong side" of the information divide, whether they be in developed or developing countries. Of special concern are the needs of women, youth and the elderly, as well as persons with disabilities.
- UNESCO Memory of the WorldThe vision of the Memory of the World Programme is that the world's documentary heritage belongs to all, should be fully preserved and protected for all and, with due recognition of cultural mores and practicalities, should be permanently accessible to all without hindrance.
- World Intellectual Property OrganizationThe World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations. It is dedicated to developing a balanced and accessible international intellectual property (IP) system, which rewards creativity, stimulates innovation and contributes to economic development while safeguarding the public interest.
50 Years of UCLA Ethnomusicology
Videos
- Safeguarding Intangible Cultural HeritageJust what is intangible cultural heritage and why does UNESCO promote its safeguarding? You can find short answers in the video above. You can also encounter more than 400 practices and expressions of intangible heritage already inscribed on the Intangible Heritage Lists to learn more about the richness of this heritage and the importance it plays in our lives.