Photo Gallery
Selected Reports in Ethnomusicology
Article Indexes for Music
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text. - Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly music journals, essay collections, music articles in non-music journals, dissertations, and non-English resources. UC-eLinks provides access to online content if it is available. - RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950--from Beethoven to Bartok, from Berlioz to Berg, and from Schubert to Shostakovich. Currently indexes the contents of 120 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews. In addition, RIPM offers more than 5,000 English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages.
How to Find and Use Article Databases
When looking for articles, the best place to begin is an article database. UCLA students, staff and faculty have access to hundreds of databases and these databases index thousands of journals/periodicals. The article databases may contain citations, abstracts, or article full text.
Before beginning your research:
- Know the difference between scholarly journals vs. popular magazines.
- Learn how to evaluate resources.
Remember that your research topic might cover more than one discipline. For example, if you are doing research on Chinese music, you might need to search not only music, but also Chinese/Asian studies and anthropology databases, as well.
Once in a database, start with a KEYWORD search using words relevant to your topic. When you see a relevant article, click on the title to see the complete citation. If there are SUBJECT TERMS or DESCRIPTORS, click on those related to your topic to find other articles on the subject.
JSTOR and Project Muse
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.