Ethnomusicology

'The Archive of Indian music (AIM) digitizes and preserves Indian gramophone records across a range of genres including classical Hindustani and Karnataka music, folk, theater and early cinema.

The Archives and Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE) was established in 1982 by the American Institute of Indian Studies with the aim of developing a centralized archive of collections of Indian music and the performing arts and to stimulate the study of ethnomusicology in India. ARCE recordings are available for listening via SMITHSONIAN GLOBAL SOUND.

Founded in Geneva in 1983, the Ateliers d’ethnomusicologie (ADEM) is a cultural association dedicated to world music and dance. Includes a photo gallery, video gallery and music online.

400 phonograph cylinder recordings recorded in 1901-1904 by Laufer on behalf of the American Museum of Natural History, under the direction of Franz Boas, Laufer recorded popular genres in Beijing and Shanghai that have since undergone great change. Scholars assert that these are among the earliest recordings made in China.

CVMA is a non-profit and self-funded community formed in pursuit of sharing and protecting Cambodian music created during pre-Khmer Rouge, Sinn Sisamouth, Ros Sereysothea, Pen Ran and others.

Gerald P Dyck's field recordings from Northern Thailand.

A collection of over 100,000 folk songs composed and sung by the women of Maharashtra over generations, while toiling at the jāte (English: grindmill, IPA: zɑːt̪ə) at home and performing other household tasks. Some 3,302 performers across more than 1,000 villages were involved in this phenomenal recording of a poetic-musical legacy.

The site showcases the AHRC-funded Beyond Text project Growing into Music, which looks at children learning and making music in six cultures of Asia, Africa, Europe and the Americas, mostly through the medium of video.

The site showcases the AHRC-funded Beyond Text project Growing into Music, which looks at children learning and making music in six cultures of Asia, Africa, Europe and the Americas, mostly through the medium of video.

KITLV (Koninklijk Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde) maintains a collection of more than 150,000 photos, prints, drawings, maps and songs particularly from Indonesia, the Dutch Indies, Suriname and the Caribbean. The audio collection focuses on popular music from Indonesia in the 20th century.

Provide text, images, works, books, and audio-visual materials related to Taiwanese music figures, offering the public fundamental information about important Taiwanese music personalities.
臺灣音樂群像資料庫
提供臺灣音樂相關人物之文字、圖像、作品、圖書文獻及影音資料，為大眾提供臺灣重要音樂人物之基礎資訊。

Provide research results and materials from the Taiwan Music Institute's collection, preserving text, images, works, books, audio-visual materials, and research projects, and offering a query platform for these resources.
開放博物館-臺灣音樂館
提供臺灣音樂館典藏研究成果資料，保存典藏文物之文字、圖像、作品、圖書文獻及影音資料與研究計畫之查詢平台。

The Pratinada website provides access to three unique, rare and previously barely accessible sonic and musical collections from Southeast Asia located in Europe, namely: The Jaap Kunst Collection (Netherlands); The CNRS / Musée de l'Homme sound archives (France); The BBC Empire Service broadcasts (United Kingdom).

Throughout the late 20th century, some of India's most marginalized communities in the desert region of Western Rajasthan created and carried on a variety of musical and oral traditions such as ballads, oral epics, and storytelling by hereditary musician castes. These traditions are disappearing. Komal Kothari, a pioneer scholar who put the practices of Western Rajasthan communities on the world music map, worked for roughly 25 years in researching and recording this local culture. In order to preserve the auditory and oral heritage, the Archives and Research Center for Ethnomusicology (ARCE) at the American Institute of Indian Studies (AIIS) has digitized a collection of Kothari’s recordings.

South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) is a collaborative, open-access resource for research, teaching, and learning about South Asia. The member-driven collection includes historical and contemporary sources from and about the region in arts, humanities, social sciences, history of science, and other fields in English and other South Asian languages.

The Thai Music Inventory hosts articles on various aspects of Thai music, some scholarly and some more popular in approach, lesson plans for high school teachers, and the Thai 78 rpm Discographical Framework which includes scans of the record labels and sound samples. The two main authors are Dr James Mitchell and Peter Garrity.

The Travelling Archive shares extracts from a growing collection of folk music of Bengal, as well as other places within the Indian Subcontinent. Also includes excerpts of archival film footage from Kenduli and audio recording from Santinketan and Calcutta recorded by Arnold Ardiaan Bake.

The core collection of the Center is the Jose Maceda Collection, consisting of library and archive materials including about 2500 hours of recorded music in open reel and cassette tapes, field notes, music transcriptions, song texts, photographs, musical instruments, music compositions, personal files, and about 2000 books and journals that were put together by Dr. Maceda, his research staff, and other scholars since 1953. Together with Dr. Maceda’s personal collections which were officially transferred and deposited at the U.P. Center for Ethnomusicology in September 22, 2005, the collection has been inscribed in the UNESCO Memory of the World Register in August 2007, as an item of documentary heritage of exceptional value.

WesScholar (Wesleyan's digital repository), currently hosts materials to accompany Mark Slobin's book, "Music at Wesleyan."