Physical Media: Searching
Searching Library of Congress standardized subject headings can help you find books on specific countries/regions, directors, and genres in UC Library Search. Some examples are provided below, and researchers are encouraged to click on subject headings in individual catalog records that are relevant to their topic.
General UC Search Subject Headings for Physical Media
Examples of selected physical media in UCLA collections are listed below. For many more titles, search the collections of UCLA Library, UCLA Film & Television Archive, and Instructional Media Collections.
Selected Physical Media at UCLA
- Walt Disney Golden Anniversary Salute / Harry Stoones, Inc. ; producers, Bernie Kukoff, Jeff Harris ; director, Lou Tedesco ; writers, Christopher Finch, Linda Rosenkrantz."History of Disney and Walt Disney Productions. Musical numbers from Snow White, Three little pigs, Pinocchio, Song of the South, Cinderella, Mary Poppins. Villains from Sleeping Beauty, Snow White and the seven dwarfs, Pinocchio, Fantasia (Sorcerer's apprentice), Bambi. Chronology from Alice in cartoonland (1923), Oswald the Rabbit (1925), Plane crazy (1929), Mickey's gala premier, Through the mirror.
- The boys: the Sherman brothers' story / Walt Disney Pictures presents a Crescendo/Traveling Light production ; produced by Gregory V. Sherman & Jeffrey C. Sherman ; directed by Jeffrey C. Sherman & Gregory V. Sherman.Documentary on the lives of Robert B. Sherman and Richard M. Sherman, the Academy Award-winning songwriting team that defined family musical entertainment with songs such as "A spoonful of sugar," from Mary Poppins, and "I wan'na be like you," from The jungle book. Explores the deep and longstanding rift that has kept the brothers personally estranged throughout much of their professional partnership.
- The best of Disney : 50 years of magic / Don Mischer Productions ; executive producer, Don Mischer ; producers, David J. Goldberg, Harry Arends ; director, Don Mischer ; writers, Sara Lukinson, Bill Prady."The Disney Studio celebrates its golden anniversary on its Burbank lot with a two-hour retrospective. Still in production at press time, the program is hosted by Dick van Dyke, Daryl Hannah, Annette Funicello, Teri Garr, Shelley Long, Barbara Walters, Neil Patrick Harris and Harry Connick, Jr.
- Disneyland. Fantasyland. Tricks of our trade.A look at the art and science of animation, with examples from various Disney films.
- Behind the scenes at the Walt Disney Studios / director, Alfred L. Werker.[Condensed 27 min. version of 1941 feature film, The reluctant dragon]. Film begins in black and white, then changes to color.
- Dateline Disneyland / produced by Disneyland in association with ABC ; sponsors, American Motors Company, Swift & Company Meats, and Gibson Greeting Cards ; producer, Sherman Marks ; directors, Stuart Phelps, John Rich.Celebration of the opening of Disneyland, touted as TV's greatest camera coverage to date. 63 technical and production personnel worked on the telecast inside Disneyland: 41 operating engineers, 9 directors, 5 assistant directors, 7 floor managers, 5 technical directors. Viewers are taken on a tour of the entertainment realms of Disneyland via 24 variously placed TV cameras, plus two film cameras. Featured are parades, musical numbers (including one by the cast of the Mickey Mouse Club, which premiered on ABC in October, 1955), and film clips from many Walt Disney productions.
- Cinderella / Walt Disney Pictures ; a Walt Disney production ; story, William Peed, Ted Sears, Homer Brightman, Kenneth Anderson, Erdman Penner, Winston Hibler, Harry Reeves, Joe Rinaldi ; directors, Wilfred Jackson, Hamilton Luske, Clyde Geronimi ; produ[Videodisc version includes: The making of Walt Disney's masterpiece, Cinderella; the 1922 Laugh-o-gram Cinderella; the 1933 Silly symphony Cinderella; storyboards; abandoned storyboard sequences for The music lesson, Cinderella work song and Dancing on a cloud; the demos for unused songs, Dancing on a cloud, The dress my mother wore, and The face that I see in the night; excerpts from radio broadcasts Village store, March 25, 1948, Gulf Oil presents, ca. 1950, and Scouting the stars, February 23, 1950; 1950 and 1957 radio commercials; character design for Cinderella, stepmother, stepsisters, fairy godmother, prince, king, duke, Lucifer the cat, mice, Bruno the dog, Major the horse, miscellaneous animals and the deleted character of the music teacher; preliminary design concepts; layouts and backgrounds, live-action test footage; excerpt from the January 24, 1956 Mickey Mouse Club; production photo gallery; trailers; publicity posters, lobby cards and 1950 pressbook; merchandising; 1950 Sunday color comic strip].
- [Disneyland (Television program). Frontierland. Nine lives of Elfego Baca--promotional film. ABC closed circuit presentation].Don Tatum, vice-president of Walt Disney Productions, introduces this closed circuit telecast directed at the president of Reynolds metals. After Tatum's introduction, the first episode of The nine lives of Elfego Baca is screened. The program lacks some music and effects, which have not yet been finished.
- Disney's little mermaid. Wish upon a starfish / the Walt Disney Company ; producer-director, Jamie Mitchell ; writers, Tedd Anasti, Patsy Cameron.Music, Mark Watters; theme music, Alan Menken. Broadcast on CBS. Copyright notice on videocassette: c1993 by the Walt Disney Company. Emmy Award nominee, Daytime.
- [KTLA news (Los Angeles, Calif.). 1980-08-21--excerpt and/or outtakes. Screen Actors Guild (SAG) pickets at Disney, FM9052].The Screen Actors Guild pickets outside of Disney Studios. The picketing is jubilant with live band music and dancing. A picket sign reads "Musican Union AFM, AFL CIO on strike against motion picture & TV film producers." Actor John Russell appears. No news commentary.
- [Disney artists on strike] / compiled by Arthur Babbitt.Record of Walt Disney animators' strike of 1941, compiled from home movie footage and other sources.
- Mickey Mouse goes to Haiti : Walt Disney and the science of exploitation / produced by Rudi Stern ; edited by Sylvie de MuizonReports on the use of cheap labor by the Walt Disney Company in its clothing factories in Haiti. Advocates that Disney clean up contractors' factories, guarantee workers' rights, pay a living wage, and open their plants to independent human rights organizations to monitor conditions.
UCLA Film & Television Archive
The UCLA Film & Television Archive holds over 350,000 motion pictures and 170,000 television programs, spanning the entire course of film and broadcasting history. The collection includes independent and studio-produced shorts and feature films, documentaries, local and network TV programming, commercials, news and public affairs broadcasts, LGBTQIA media, and 27 million feet of newsreels produced between 1919 and 1971.
Not all of the Archive's holdings are listed in the public catalog, so contacting the Archive Research and Study Center directly about holdings and access is recommended.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive Catalog This link opens in a new windowMotion pictures (silent era, classic Hollywood, independent cinema, LGBT collections, documentaries and newsreels, animated cartoons, foreign and contemporary American films), television (American telecasting from 1945 to date), and news and public affairs programs (1950 to date).
- UCLA Film & Television Archive Research and Study CenterIncludes help on using the Archive's catalog and arranging research viewing appointments at Powell Library (when in-person operations resume).
- UCLA Film & Television Archive: Explore CollectionsIncludes help on using the Archive's catalog, as well as profiles of major collections by topic.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive Online CollectionsIncludes KTLA news footage documenting local history, the LGBTQIA series In the Life, selected L.A. Rebellion and UCLA student films, and more.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive YouTube ChannelSelected streaming video from the Archive's collections and about the Archives work.
- Hearst Metrotone News Collection (UCLA Film & Television Archive) This link opens in a new windowNewsreels from the UCLA Film & Television Archive. In cooperation with the UCLA Film & Television Archive, the Packard Humanities Institute is developing this website as part of a joint project to make the Hearst newsreel collection more easily accessible to the public. Includes newsreels shown in theatres from 1929 to 1967.
Instructional Media Collections and Services (IMCS)
UCLA's central resource for the collection and maintenance of instructional media. The collection includes several thousand videotapes, laserdiscs, DVDs, and other media as well as selected department, media lab, and study center collections.
IMCS is funded for instructional on-campus use. Although most holdings are also listed in UC Library Search, researchers can also search the IMCS catalog directly. Students must use these videos on site at the Instructional Media Lab, although some are available for streaming via course reserves in Bruin Learn.
- IMCS HomepageInstructional Media Collections and Services (IMCS) provides access to course-required physical and digital media for UCLA instructors, teaching assistants, students and non-UCLA academic researchers. Students and staff may view materials in the Powell Library Media Lab, Room 270, by making a request preferably three business days in advance.
- Search the IMCS CollectionsSearch the IMCS collection catalog by title, format, subject matter, director or other terms. Many IMCS titles also appear in UC Library Search.
- IMCS Access FAQsIncludes information about placing material on reserve, requesting online access, etc.
- IMCS Media Purchase Request FormInstructors and Teaching Assistants are eligible to submit a purchase request for media intended for usage in a course.
- Placing IMCS Course ReservesInstructors may request to have their class reserve videos encoded and linked to their course web page via a digital link. They will be accessible only to students enrolled in the class in question and only after logging into the UCLA VPN.