Disney

In this completely redesigned follow-up to the successful Building a Dream, readers will get a look at the architecture and the ideas and stories behind the structures which have been designed by some of the most renowned contemporary architects. Isozaki, Frank Gehry and Aldo Rossi. Disney has set standards for postmodern architecture and has become one of its leading patrons anywhere in the world. Building a Dream is a stunning oversize and collectible volume which features original architectural drawings and photographs.

Designing Disney sets into history and puts into context the extraordinary contributions of John Hench, who, at the age of 94, continued to come into his office at Imagineering each day. His principles of theme park design, character design, and use of color have made him a legendary figure.

Written to accompany an exhibition at the Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montreal, Designing Disney's Theme Parks: The Architecture of Reassurance is the first book to look beyond the multiple myths of Disneyland. Uniting a roster of authors chosen from wide-ranging disciplines, this study is the first to examine the influence of Disneyland on both our built environment and our architectural imagination. Tracing the relationship of the Disney parks to their historical forbears, it charts Disneyland's evolution from one man's personal dream to a multinational enterprise, a process in which the Disney "magic" has moved ever closer to the real world.

Part memoir, part business book, Marty Sklar entertains readers with more than fifty years of tales of creating magic around the world. Marty Sklar was hired by The Walt Disney Company after his junior year at UCLA, and began his Disney career at Disneyland in July 1955, the month before the park opened. He spent his first decade at Disney as "the kid," the very youngest of the creative team Walt had assembled at WED Enterprises. But despite his youth, his talents propelled him forward into substantial responsibility: he became Walt's speech writer, penned Walt's and Roy's messages in the company's annual report, composed most of the publicity and marketing materials for Disneyland, conceived presentations for the U.S. government, devised initiatives to obtain sponsors to enable new Disneyland developments, and wrote a twenty-four-minute film expressing Walt's philosophy for the Walt Disney World project and Epcot.

Explores how the attraction's "999 happy haunts" were brought to life. Rare early concept sketches, detailed architectural drawings, and stunning still photography illustrate the Mansion's evolution as it was designed and built at each Magic Kingdom park around the world-including Mystic Manor at Hong Kong Disneyland.

The entire legacy of WDI is covered from day one through future projects with never-before-seen access and insights from people both on the inside and on the outside. So many stories and details were left on the cutting room floor--this book allows an expanded exploration of the magic of Imagineering.

The Imagineers, those men and women who helped Walt Disney bring his creations to life, have achieved legendary status among theme park enthusiasts. This is the life story of one of the most beloved Imagineers, Rolly Crump. Covering his long and varied career, including designing some of Disney's most famous attractions and working directly with Walt himself, Rolly's stories weave into a lighthearted yet riveting narrative of his life and accomplishments. Includes over 200 photos, many of which have never been seen before,

A forty-year storied career--beginning in the dish room at the Plaza Inn in Disneyland, Kevin Rafferty has conceived, designed, written, and overseen the creation of some of the Disney parks most memorable attractions including Typhoon Lagoon and Blizzard Beach water parks, Cars Land, Toy Story Mania, Test Track, Tower of Terror, MuppetVision, and many others. including the first-ever Mickey and Minnie Mouse attraction set to debut at Walt Disney World in 2019.

During Marc's time with WED (later Walt Disney Imagineering), he would become a driving force behind the designs of many of the most iconic attractions at the Disney theme parks. This two-volume set includes more than 1,500 pieces from the Imagineering archives, the vast majority of which have never been published, as well as many of Marc's stories of working with Walt from hours of interviews by Chris Merritt.

Through rare Disney theme park concept art and photographs, this book showcases more than 280 biographies and features more than 50 pages on the evolution and behind-the-scenes of the Main Street, U.S.A. areas across the globe, up to and including the fairytale castles at the end of each street.

A lush compendium of posters from Disney theme parks around the globe, along with concept art and lively narrative about the development of the stunning posters! Poster Art of the Disney Parks is a tribute to those posters. Disney attraction posters have been an important means of communication since Disneyland began displaying them in 1956.

An expanded and updated second edition of the stunning collection of posters from Disney theme parks around the world. Features more than 85 new posters and concept art pieces and a lively narrative about their behind-the-scenes development.

Since the late 2000s, the themed space has been the subject of widespread analysis and criticism in academic communities as well as a popular source of entertainment for people around the world. Themed spaces have, at their foundation, an overarching narrative, symbolic complex, or story that drives the overall context of their spaces. Theming, in some very unique ways, has expanded beyond previous stereotypes and oversimplifications of culture and place to now consider new and often controversial topics, themes, and storylines. At the same time, immersion--or the idea that a space and its multiple architectural, material, performative, and technological approaches may wrap up or envelop a guest within that space--has expanded to become an overarching concern of many consumer spaces around the world.

While the success of Disneyland is largely credited to Walt and Roy Disney, there was a third, mostly forgotten dynamo instrumental to the development of the park - fast-talking Texan C. V. Wood. Three Years in Wonderland presents the never-before-told, full story of ""the happiest place on earth."" Using information from over one hundred unpublished interviews, Todd James Pierce lays down the arc of Disneyland's development from an idea to a paragon of entertainment.

Marty Sklar spent fifty-four years at Disney - the first ten at Walt's side, and accumulated a lot of stories. As Marty tried to answer the most-asked question on his book tours - 'when are you writing your next book?' - he mined his memory for stories he hadn't told before. In this fresh volume, Marty continues to regale readers with more fascinating tales from his storied career.

A dozen female Imagineers recount their trailblazing careers. Capturing an era--and preserving the stories they have told their families, their mentees, and their friends--a dozen women Imagineers have written personal stories from their decades designing and building the Disney world-wide empire of theme parks.

Contained within this deluxe tome are rough drawings, conceptual models, and behind-the-scenes stories showcasing Disney's newest attractions and innovations from the inside out. There's also an exclusive peek inside the Research and Development Lab to see what new magic will soon be appearing.

50 years ago, Walt Disney utterly transformed the concept of outdoor entertainment venues. Using his innate talent for combining disparate skills and personalities, he assembled a creative team that blended imagination with engineering and called them 'Imagineers'. Kurtti introduces a core group of the originators of Disneyland and the other Disney parks. He explores their individual relationships with Walt and each other, their creative breakthroughs and failure, their rivalries and professional politics. Lavishly illustrated with rare never-before-seen photos.

The memoir of Disney Legend Dick Nunis. It is a warm personal reminiscence of learning directly from Walt Disney for 12 years, followed by more than 30 years devoted to championing his vision and standards as the Disney empire grew. The story covers Disney's highlights, including the 1960 Winter Olympics, 1964-1965 New York World's Fair, and the development and opening of Disneyland, Walt Disney World, Epcot, Tokyo Disneyland and Disneyland Paris.

All Aboard explores the wide variety of trains in Disney's history, accompanied by rare photographs from the Disney Archives and heretofore unseen conceptual artwork behind the trains in the movies and theme parks.

These essays explore the far-reaching ideology unleashed by Disneyland, the world's first permanent, commercially viable theme park. Topics include Disney's role in the creation of children's architecture; Frontierland as an allegorical map of the American West; the "cultural invasion of France" in Disneyland Paris; the politics of nostalgia; and "hyperurbanity" in the town of Celebration, Florida.

Completely updated and expanded with over 50 new entries and 300 new photos, The Disneyland Encyclopedia spans the entire history of the park, from its founding more than 50 years ago to the present day. This fascinating book features detailed explorations of 600 Disneyland topics, including lands, attractions, restaurants, stores, events, and significant people.

In Disneyland on the Mountain: Walt, the Environmentalists, and the Ski Resort That Never Was, Greg Glasgow and Kathryn Mayer provide an unprecedented look inside the Mineral King saga, from its origins at the 1960 Winter Olympics to the years-long environmental fight that eventually shut the development down. The fight, which went all the way to the Supreme Court, reshaped the environmental movement and helped to put in place long-reaching laws to protect nature. Although the court battle, coupled with Walt's death in 1966, meant the end for the Mineral King resort, the ideas and planning behind it have permeated throughout the Walt Disney company and the ski tourism industry in ways that are still seen today.

Camouflaged images of Mickey Mouse are concealed all around Disneyland's theme parks, hotels, and shopping and entertainment district. Barrett adds to the fun of finding them by turning the search into three scavenger hunts, complete with clues and hints.

For over 65 years, Disney's theme parks have been important locations for the formation and negotiation of the collective memory of the American narrative. Disney's success as one of America's most prolific storytellers, its rise as a symbol of America itself, and its creation of theme parks that immerse visitors in 3-dimensional versions of certain "American" values and historic myths have both echoed and shaped the way the American people see themselves.

Discover the secrets and magic of Walt Disney World. This book will be your guide to Disney's hidden treasures--including Fantasyland and Storybook Circus secrets! Your guide to Disney's hidden treasures--including Fantasyland and Storybook Circus secrets!

The sixth in a series of pocket-size paperbacks answers the question "What would it be like to walk through Disney California Adventure with an Imagineer by your side?" The Imagineering Field Guide to Disney California Adventure provides that experience: pointing out details and telling stories, backstories, and Imagineering insights never before heard, condensed into a portable, easily referenced park guide. Y

The entire legacy of WDI is covered from day one through future projects with never-before-seen access and insights from people both on the inside and on the outside. So many stories and details were left on the cutting room floor--this book allows an expanded exploration of the magic of Imagineering.

This entertaining and playful book views Disney World as much more than the site of an ideal family vacation. Blending personal meditations, interviews, photographs, and cultural analysis, Inside the Mouse looks at Disney World's architecture and design, its consumer practices, and its use of Disney characters and themes.

Throughout Disney's phenomenally successful run in the entertainment industry, the company has negotiated the use of cutting-edge film and media technologies that, J. P. Telotte argues, have proven fundamental to the company's identity.

All the photos in this book were taken on that single Thursday, beginning early in Tokyo and following the sun around the world through Shanghai, Hong Kong, Paris, Madrid, the Bahamas, Costa Rica, and dozens of places throughout the United States. More than 40 hours after it began, the day ended as the sun set on the Aulani resort in Hawaii. On that day, some 80 Cast Members agreed to open up their workshops, dressing rooms, kitchens, cubicles, TV studios, labs, locomotive engines - and some even more surprising and diverse work spaces.

Discover 100 beloved and little-known Disney adventures--from seeing fireworks on a dessert-themed boat ride to dining with your favorite characters to a tour of the Galapagos Islands--that will make for a lifetime of magical, memorable experiences.

This collection of essays explores the Disney theme parks as performance spaces--as immersive theatre spaces--and examines the agency of the tourist within those spaces. In contrast to much previous Disney scholarship, Performance and the Disney Theme Park Experience asserts that park guests collaborate with Disney Imagineers more than typically assumed. The books various sections explore nostalgia, utopia, progress, and fantasy; the ideology of park environments; the presence of human and audio-animatronic performers; and the inclusion of outsider identities within the parks.

Walt Disney World honors its fiftieth anniversary with "The World's Most Magical Celebration," an 18-month event that begins October 1, 2021. As part of the festivities, this coffee table book paints a robust portrait of the Florida resort, through vibrant voices and rare Disney theme park concept art, photographs, and ephemera.

While the success of Disneyland is largely credited to Walt and Roy Disney, there was a third, mostly forgotten dynamo instrumental to the development of the park - fast-talking Texan C. V. Wood. Three Years in Wonderland presents the never-before-told, full story of ""the happiest place on earth."" Using information from over one hundred unpublished interviews, Todd James Pierce lays down the arc of Disneyland's development from an idea to a paragon of entertainment.

A immersive guide to the attractions and landmarks Walt helped create in his original Magic Kingdom. This book allows guests to walk around Disneyland identifying the attractions and landmarks Walt championed, touching what he touched, and seeing his original Magic Kingdom through his eyes. Walt's Disneyland is organized land by land, clockwise, beginning with Main Street, U.S.A. then on to Adventureland, Frontierland, New Orleans Square, Fantasyland, and Tomorrowland.

Today, there are Disney resorts from Paris to Shanghai, but the original Disneyland in Anaheim, California, which has been visited by more than 800 million people to-date, remains one of America's most popular attractions. This bountiful visual history draws on Disney's vast historical collections, private archives, and the golden age of photojournalism to provide unique access to the concept, development, launch, and enjoyment of this sun-drenched oasis of fun and fantasy. Disneyland documents Walt's earliest inspirations and ideas; the park's extraordinary feats of design and engineering; its grand opening; each of its immersive "lands" from Main Street, U.S.A., to Tomorrowland; and the park's evolution through the six decades since it opened.