Skip to Main Content

Disney

A guide to UCLA Library collections and resources related to the study of Disney film and television, theme parks, and popular culture.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Diana King
she/her

Research Help

Need more research help? We're here for you.

chat icon  Chat with us online

email icon  Email us your quick questions 

search icon Check out our FAQ 

person icon Connect with a subject specialist

Selected Images

Photo of Walt Disney holding a

Walt Disney with "Fantasia" figurine, 1941

Photo from January 25, 1941, captioned, "The man behind Fantasia, Walt Disney, puts an approving eye on one of the models used to set a classic sequence for the animated musical production having its western premiere at the Carthay Circle Wednesday Night." 

From the Los Angeles Herald Examiner Photo Collection, Los Angeles Public Library

Image of Israeli poster for the film, The Aristocats

חתולים בצמרת / Poster for The Aristocats

From the Time Travel Collection (Israel), UCLA Library International Digital Ephemera Project

Image of Disney imagineers examining a model of Disney World's Space Mountain, 1973

Disney imagineers examining a model of Disney World's Space Mountain, 1973

Disney engineers, from left, Marty Sklar, Tony Baxter, George McGinnis and John Hench examine a model of Disney World's new Space Mountain ride. The display was part of the first press tour ever offered of production center of Walter Elias Disney Enterprises.

From the Los Angeles Times Photographic Collection, UCLA Library Special Collections

 

Photo of animator Milton Quon at the Chinese American Museum in 2005.

Milton Quon at the Chinese American Museum, 2005

Disney animator Milton Quon is seen holding a book open, which shows a drawing of Disneyland's Matterhorn Mountain, at the Chinese American Museum in Los Angeles, in 2005.

From the Gary Leonard Collection photographs., Los Angeles Public Library

Photo of animator Retta Scott

Image of animator Retta Scott, date unknown

Retta Scott was the first woman to receive screen credit as an animator for Walt Disney Animation Studios for Bambi. She also worked on Dumbo and Fantasia, but was uncredited at the time. She went on to illustrate Walt Disney’s Cinderella: A Big Golden Book (1950)a copy of which resides UCLA Library Special Collections.

Photo from Walt Disney Archives' Disney Legends webpage.

Introduction and Scope

This guide was created in 2022 by Diana King and Arts Library Student Research Assistant Marie Fucile. It includes introductory resources on Walt Disney film, television, culture, and theme parks at UCLA, including selected archival materials. 

Introductory Reference Sources

Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN & Proxy Tutorials

The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!

If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.

VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
Download a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
Download a UCLA VPN
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Download a UCLA VPN
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies
Proxy Server