U.S. Bilateral Country Fact Sheets from the U.S. Department of State
This database from the U.S. Department of State bears some similarities to the CIA Country Fact sheets but has a more specific focus; namely, it concentrates on U.S. Bilateral Relations. For each country, it provides a brief overview of the politics and the goals of U.S. assistance and economic relations.
FBIS (Foreign Broadcasting Information Service) Daily Reports
FBIS Daily Reports are translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information. Below are links to a sampling of the many records in the catalog. However, most of them are included in the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports database.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, including transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English. Translations of print and broadcast news, Foreign Broadcast Information Service Publications 1996-2004, are available on CD-Rom. Years 1941-1996 are online in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
- FBIS White Book.Years 1947 - 1974.
- Daily Report [microform]/ Foreign Broadcasting Information ServiceYears 1970 - 1974.
- Daily Report. Western Europe. IndexYears 1978/79 - 1987
- Daily Report. Asia & Pacific. IndexYears 1978/79 - 1986/87
- Daily Report. East Asia. Index.Years 1986/87 - 1995/96
- Daily Report. Middle East & Africa.Years 1980 - 1987.
- Daily Report. Sub-Saharan Africa.Years 1988 - 1996.
- Daily Report. Soviet Union [microform]. FBIS.Years 1974 - 1991, 1992.
- Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combined search of all Readex (NewsBank) databases to which UCLA subscribes, including America's Historical Imprints, America's Historical Newspapers, American State Papers, FBIS Daily Reports, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Caribbean newspapers, 1718-1876 and World Newspaper Archive. - American Proxy Wars: Korea and Vietnam Global Perspectives, 1946-1975 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books covering the Korean and Vietnamese conflicts. - Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction Global Perspectives, 1945-1996 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global reaction to the world Arms Race - Propaganda and the Chinese Press Global Perspectives, 1946-1996 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles published by major communist Chinese newspapers from 1946-1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA - Pravda Archive, 1959-1996 Twentieth-Century Global Perspectives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles published by Pravda during the Cold War and the years immediately following, from 1959 to 1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA - World Protest and Reform Movements Global Perspectives, 1945-1996 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global reaction to major protest and reform movements - Cold War Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports, publications, and news broadcasts offering firsthand analysis, descriptions, and viewpoints of every facet of the Cold War - Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century - American Race Relations Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports, publications, and news broadcasts covering America's fight for racial justice, with firsthand analysis of race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia.
- Apartheid Global Perspectives, 1946-1996 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated news broadcasts and publications on the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and from around the world
Popular Resources
- United States Department of State Papers relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. Available on campus in paper and microfiche. Electronic access via HeinOnline.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) from 1861-1960From the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center.
- U.S. Department of State. Office of the Historian.Browse official documents from the published Foreign Relations of the United States series.
- War Relocation Authority and Other U.S. Government PublicationsThe War Relocation Authority (WRA) is a civilian agency created by Franklin Roosevelt on March 18, 1942 with the signing of Executive Order 9102. The agency is responsible for the relocation and internment of over 110,000 Japanese Americans during World War II.
Historical Documents and Indexes
- Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909An approximately complete checklist of all public documents issued by the United States Government during the first century and a quarter of its history. Lists Congressional and Departmental publications.
- Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893, Vol. 1Index to publications issued during the period covered by the Forty-seventh to the Fifty-second Congresses, inclusive, printed either by order of Congress, or by the several Executive Departments of the Government.i
- Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893, Vol. 2Index to publications issued during the period covered by the Forty-seventh to the Fifty-second Congresses, inclusive, printed either by order of Congress, or by the several Executive Departments of the Government.
- CyberCemeteryAn archive of government websites that have ceased operation.
California and Other States in Federal Documents
- A History of the Los Angeles District, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 1898-1965Also available through HathiTrust.
- Immigrants in industries (In 25 parts)Pt. 1 Bituminous coal mining.--pt. 2 Iron and steel manufacturing.--pt. 3-4 Cotton goods manufacturing in th north Atlantic states. Woolen and worsted goods manufacturing.--pt. 5-7 Silk goods manufacturing and dyeing. Clothing manufacturing. Collar, cuff, and shirt manufacturing.--pt. 8-10 Leather manufacturing. Boot and shoe manufacturing. Glove manufacturing.--pt. 11 Slaughtering and meat packing.--pt. 12-13 Glass manufacturing.