Skip to main content

Government Information

A Federal Depository Library

Celebrating 88 Years of Service and Discovery: The Federal Depository Library Program at UCLA

Today our multidisciplinary collection is the oldest and the largest federal depository collection in the UC system. Our Library receives more than 7000 items numbers, including paper, microfiche, CD, DVD, maps, and online products from the FDLP depository. The collections in tangible and electronic formats are integrated with general collections and are located in the Charles E. Young Research Library, Science and Engineering Library, Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library, and SRLF.

Melvyl: UC Library Catalog

Search UCLA Library and Beyond

Advanced Search Search with WorldCat

About the Federal Government Collection


Congress established the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) to ensure the American public access to its government's information. In 1932 Senator Samuel Shortridge designated the UCLA Library a selective Federal Depository Library (0043) to support informational needs of residents in the 29th Congressional district and the UCLA community. This federal program, administered by the U.S. Government Publishing Office, allows libraries to obtain federal government publications while agreeing to maintain the collection and provide public access and information services.

The federal collection consists of more than million print and online items in various formats, including books, periodicals, maps, pamphlets, posters, and electronic resources, in subject such as legislation, education, demography, economics, business, agriculture, military, engineering, patents, and cartography. Our federal depository collection is integrated with general collections using Library of Congress subject classification, and is fully cataloged and searchable through the UCLA Library Catalog.

Access Policy

The general public is welcome to use materials in the library. Federal depository law guarantees free and unimpeded access to the collection (44 U.S.C. § 1911) or access FDLP Basic Collection: Core U.S. Government Resources.

Federal Government: General Resources

Federal Election Resources