Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
The UCLA Census Collection
This guide points to important United States Census information, statistics, and data you will find at the Charles E. Young Research Library and on the Web. The collection represents a part of the Federal Depository Library Program in which the Research Library has participated in since 1932. As a designated Federal Depository Library (0043) by Senator Samuel Shortridge, the collection supports the informational needs of the residents in the 29th Congressional district and the university community users.
All bound copies of the Decennial Census can be found in the Reference section under the call number HA201 for population (and Census before 1940), and HD7293 for housing.
About the Census
Census 2020 : understanding the issues by Call Number: Online Resources HA37.U55ISBN: 3030405788Date: Cham : Springer, ©2020This book details the fundamentals and significance of the 2020 Census for the non-specialist reader. It covers why the Census is the only statistical activity required by the US Constitution, the challenges of working towards an accurate and complete count, and what political ramifications flow from this process. Concise, timely, and comprehensible, this book provides helpful real-life examples while also offering an overview of the entwined statistical and political issues that surround the Census
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census : from the Constitution to the American Community Survey by ISBN: 9781608717835Date: 2011The new edition highlights changes in the Census Bureau data collection and dissemination practices for the 2010 enumeration, including the use of a short-form questionnaire for the actual population count, and the release in late 2010 of the American Community Survey (ACS), a 5-year data set based on rolling samples of the US population gathered using the long-form questionnaire. Also in print.
Guide to the Census by ISBN: 9781118419892Date: 2013This resource offers a reference guide for anyone interested in tailoring specific Census data to their needs. It includes computer coding (SAS v9.x) software for extracting targeted data from thousands of Census files, as well as primers on using online tools and mapping software for analyzing data. The book offers thorough coverage of all aspects of census data including its historical significance, suggestions for parsing housing, occupation, transportation, economic, health, and other data from the census, and much more.
- Census ReporterCensus Reporter is an independent project to make data from the American Community Survey easier to use. We are unaffiliated with the U.S. Census Bureau.
The Census Bureau, as a division of the Department of Commerce, conducts:
- Census of Population and Housing (also called the decennial census), every 10 years
- American Community Survey, annually
- Economic Census, every 5 years
- Census of Governments, every 5 years
The National Agricultural Statistics Service, as a division of the Department of Agriculture, conducts:
- Census of Agriculture, every 5 years
See the full Data and Analysis Tools page for more information.
- California State Data CenterThe Demographic Research Unit of the California Department of Finance is designated as the single official source of demographic data for state planning and budgeting.
- U.S. Census TIGER ShapefilesThe files linked here are backups of Census data including nationwide geographies and detailed state files.
- Missouri Census Data CenterThe MCDC offers census data for every state in the country.
- National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)The NHGIS provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2012. Funded by the National Science Foundation.
- Pew Research Center - Social & Demographic TrendsThe PRC offers census data and data analysis on a variety of topics.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online data and mapping application with access to more than 10,000 indicators for U.S. demographics, housing and real estate, income, mortgages, health, and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports and upload your own data without expensive software and training. Online access restricted to UCLA. - SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 20 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as crosstab functionality with the Simmons NCS data. Premium market segment data is available from the PRIZM, ConneXions, and P$YCLE datasets enabling researchers to identify target market segments based on lifestyle, tech usage, and income. Localized survey data is available from the Nielsen Scarborough dataset, along with detailed financial data from the Financial CLOUT dataset. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level. - Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical demographic and social data, plus online tools to create custom maps and reports. Optional personal login account required to save and share projects online.
- STATS AmericaSTATS America is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business. Thousands of data items from hundreds of data sets from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data. The direct agency source of the data is acknowledged on every table, profile or map.
“Census records” (sometimes “census schedules”) is the term usually used to describe the actual census forms filled in by users and census-takes. By law these are kept private for 72 years. After that time, they’re available from the National Archives on microfilm.
The UCLA Library has some of the census schedules, mostly for selected counties in California. They can be found in the UCLA Library Catalog. The Library also subscribes to Ancestry Library Edition, which has all of the available schedules online (off-campus access requires UCLA authentication).
For genealogical research, we recommend using the Los Angeles FamilySearch Library, which has comprehensive genealogy resources that go beyond just the census schedules.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of family history research databases, including the US federal census images from 1790 to 1950. Please note there are differences in features and content between Ancestry Library Edition and Ancestry.com subscriptions for individuals.