Open Government Data
In an Executive Order signed by Pres. Obama, the US has announced its intention to make government information open and machine-readable, with the hope that such formats might become the standard for government data in the future. In addition to the library, sources like Data.gov continue to work, in partnership with the government, to make this information available to the public.
National Libraries
- National Library of EnergyReplaces Science Accelerator as cross-searchable access to all DOE (energy.gov) websites and program offices, the National Nuclear Security Administration, the Energy Information Administration, and DOE National Laboratories.
- National Library of Medicine (NLM)Biomedical literature and information, including access to PubMed/MEDLINE and other databases.
- National Transportation LibraryStatistical and other information needed for transportation decision-making at the federal, state, and local levels.
- National Agricultural LibraryInformation about Animals and Livestock; Food and Nutrition; History, Art and Biography; Laws and Regulations; Marketing and Trade; Natural Resources and Environment; Plants and Crops; Research and Technology; Rural and Community Development
Agency Data and Statistics
Many US agencies generate their own data and statistics.
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisData on U.S. domestic production, consumption, and investment, of exports and imports, and of national and domestic income and saving.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsInformation on employment, inflation and prices, consumer spending, and industry productivity.
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsInformation on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
- Bureau of Transportation StatisticsProvides transportation statistics.
- Census BureauU.S. Economic Indicators - each indicator is released on a specific schedule, see the Economic Indicator Calendar
- Department of Agriculture Economic Research ServiceData on Farm Practices & Management; Food Sector; Natural Resources & Environment; Rural Economy; Trade & International Markets.
- Department of Housing and Urban PlanningInformation on housing communities and urban markets.
- Energy Information AdministrationIndependent and impartial energy information.
- Environmental Protection AgencyNumerical data sources on Air, Climate Change, Health Risks, Pollutants & Contaminants, Waste, and Water.
- Federal ReserveStatistics & Historical Data on the U.S.' monetary and financial system.
- National Center for Education StatisticsData related to education including the Digest of Education Statistics, a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
- National Agricultural Statistics ServiceProvides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture.
- National Center for Health StatisticsStatistical Health Information.
- National Science Foundation: Science Resources StatisticsPublications, data, and analyses about the nation's science and engineering resources.
- Office of Management and BudgetHistorical Tables provides data on budget receipts, outlays, surpluses or deficits, Federal debt, and Federal employment over an extended time period, generally from 1940 or earlier to 2011 or 2015.
- Social Security Administration: Research, Statistics, & Policy AnalysisRetirement and disability research and OASDI and SSI program statistics.
- The Department of State Foreign Affairs Network (DOSFAN)The DOSFAN site provides access to electronically-archived information products produced by the U.S. Department of State from 1990 through 1997 and includes archived websites of the U.S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency and the U.S. Information Agency.
Federal Databases
- AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators, AGRICOLA covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
- National Agricultural Statistics ServiceProvides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture.
- Science Tracer BulletsLibrary of Congress research guides to help you locate information on science and technology subjects.
- SciTech ConnectConsolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database, providing access to science, technology, and engineering research from the U.S. Department of Energy.
- USA Spending.govUSAspending is the official open data source of federal spending information.
- NTRL: National Technical Reports Library from the National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and open access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 500,000 documents are available in full-text format.
List of Government Departments and Agencies
- Government DirectoryAn organizational directory of the U.S. government.
- US Government ManualOfficial handbook of the US federal government. Provides information on the federal agencies.