Free Government Information
Additional Resources
- Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Thousands of newspapers, books, ephemera, broadsides, pamphlets, government publications, and more, detailing life in 17th-, 18th-, and 19th-century America. Includes America's Historical Imprints; Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876; America's Historical Newspapers; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980. - CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for research in American government, politics, legislation, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Congress Collection, and Voting and Elections Collection. (For CQ Press e-books, see Sage Knowledge.)
- U.S. Declassified Documents (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 70,000 primary source government documents, from the post-WWII period through the 1970's. Contains declassified documents from presidential libraries, the CIA, the FBI and a host of other agencies concerning major domestic and international events of the post-World War II era. Formerly known as Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS). - ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of bills, resolutions, hearings, debates, and other legislative documents. Also contains Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Serial Set 1789-present, and legislative histories (through Legislative Insight).
- The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This searchable database brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. The database covers subjects in arts, music, and leisure, civil rights, counter-culture, law and government, mass media, new left and emerging neo-conservative movement, student activism, Vietnam War, women's movement, etc.
- CQ Almanac
- This link opens in a new window
Accounts written by journalists of all of the major legislation and issues tackled by congress. Browseable by congress number or issue.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 80,000 declassified documents in collections such as Afghanistan, Berlin Crisis, China and the US, Cuban Missile Crisis, El Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Intelligence Community, Iran Revolution, Iraqgate, Japan and the US, Military Uses of Space, Nicaragua, Nuclear Non-Proliferation, Philippines, Presidential Directives, obtained through of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- NARA Archival DatabasesOnline access to records in a small selection of historic databases preserved permanently in the National Archives. The records cover a wide variety of civilian and military functions and have many genealogical, social, political, and economic research uses.
- American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session. - Sage Data (powered by Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of publicly, privately, and commercially sourced statistical time-series data, with integrated analysis and mapping tools. - Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of federal legislative histories, covering 1789 to 2023. (A legislative history is a list of all the hearings, debates, reports, and other documents produced during the process of passing a specific law.) Includes (and searches) full-text of most documents cited in the histories. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, from 2013 to the present. Volumes covering 1879-2012 are on the US Census site.
- Data Census.gov (formerly American FactFinder)This is a new platform for accessing U.S. census data. American FactFinder moved to this new platform on March 31, 2020.
- Benefits.govEligibility for and links to government benefits
- Data.govPublic access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. A compilation of government data that continues to grow.
- GovInfo- Additional Government Publicationswith: The Plum Book is prepared after each Presidential election by the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee and the Senate Committee on Governmental Affairs. It provides comprehensive information on more than 8,000 Federal civil service leadership and support positions in the legislative and executive branches of the Federal Government.
- Data and Statistics about the U.S.Statistics from more than one hundred US agencies.
- FedWorld (Created by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).An annotated subject index to federal government web sites and a central directory of electronic government information. Searchable for government, technical, and business information in 20 different databases, several with full text of documents.
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. A little over half of the items in the HSDL Collection are openly searchable and available to the public.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- United States Patent and Trademark OfficeRecords of all patents filed in the US. UCLA Research Guide to Patents is a useful resource.
- End of Term Web ArchiveCaptures and saves U.S. government websites at the end of presidential administrations. EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008 and 2012 and is currently preparing for the 2016 electoral season.
- Science.gov, from the interagency Science.gov AllianceGateway to U.S. Government science information, citations, data, and publications.
- USA Trade Online, United States Census BureauFree--just click Sign up now to create a free account.
US Federal Government Documents Registry
- United States Federal Government Documents Registry. HathiTrustThe Registry is intended to include item-level metadata for the comprehensive corpus of U.S. federal documents produced from 1789 to the present.
- Federal Depository Library Program Web ArchivePermanent public access to federal agency web content, the FDLP harvests and preserves select federal websites.
- Internet Archive GovDocsCollection of federal government documents. See also the FedLink collection and the End of Term Web Crawls.
- The Memory Hole 2Saves and preserves important documents that have been, or are at risk of being, deleted from government websites