Article Databases
Article Databases are commercial resources paid for by UCLA. Some of those focusing on California are listed below.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- RAND Publications This link opens in a new windowSearch the archive of over 17,000 RAND documents dating back to 1948.
Web Resources
Listed below are some useful online, non-commercial resources
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research and grey literature from the policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs, and NGOs. It covers many disciplines—agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, history, area studies, economics, sociology, political science, health, climate, diversity, sustainable development, and more.
- Pew Center on the StatesPolicy analysis of state governments, including state by state comparisons
- State Government and Politics (University of Michigan)A comprehensive resource for a variety of state government needs
- Historical Text Archive Online: CaliforniaLinks to a wide variety of material on California from a wide variety of sources
- National Conference of State LegislaturesExcellent source for tracking policy issues across the 50 states. Some portions of the site are restricted to members only. NCSL also publishes the journal State Legislatures which we have in print and full text online.
- National Governors AssociationEspecially useful for the information on governors (past and present)
- StatelineA daily publication of the Pew Center on the States, focusing on state news
- Index to California Historical Society's California HistoryIndex to the California Historical Society's quarterly publication, California History, from 1922-1998
- California Statistical AbstractCompilation of statistics including population, budget, finance, crime, natural resources, etc. Published by the California Department of Finance.
News Databases
Need to get the latest news or articles? Use these databases to access local, state, national and international news sources.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Restricted to UC Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 875 U.S. and over 1800 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Restricted to UC Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. It contains articles from as early as 1983, but a bulk of the coverage is from 1991 to the present. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Facts on File World News Digest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World news digest for 1940-present. Includes stories on people, stats, and world events from the top news stories for each decade.
Sac Bee's Capitol Alert
CapitalNotes
Blogger John Myers is Sacramento Bureau Chief for KQED's The California Report.