Skip to main content

Theater

Your guide to theater research at UCLA: Find articles, books, and more.

COVID-19: Library Information, Resources, & Print Access

 

As part of UCLA's transition to remote instruction, and the Library's necessary decision to close all Library locations, access to print resources and special collections is not available. Please take advantage of electronic resources such as ebooks and article databases. The UCLA community can connect to these online resources off-campus via the VPN or proxy server. Interlibrary loan is still available for electronic journal articles; however, ebooks cannot be borrowed on interlibrary loan. You can also temporarily access digitized print books via HathiTrust, although you cannot download or print these books--only do screenshots.

The library is also extending access to our print collection beyond what's available in HathiTrust through the Pilot Emergency Temporary Digititzation on Request Service (PETDOR). Please review the PETDOR FAQ for guidance on using this service. 

For help with any of our resources, please schedule an appointment with a librarian (audio/video Zoom appointments available), contact your subject librarian directly, or use our 24/7 chat service.    

    

Locating Plays and Monologue Collections in the Library Catalog

Copies of plays are located in several libraries on campus. For browsing, a good starting place is the Arts Library Selected Plays & Monologues collection, located near the Reference shelves on the entry level. This collection is focused on acting editions, monologue anthologies, and dialect CDs, which can be borrowed for two weeks. Other locations for plays include Young Research Library and Powell Library.

Online Plays: Internet and Open Access Sources

Find Published Plays, Including Collections and Periodicals

These sources can help you identify a play by subject or by cast size and other factors. Some of them also help you locate where plays are published in collected works and anthologies, which is common for short plays.

Online Play Collections: UCLA Library

The Library subscribes to a number of full text play collections, where you may also locate monologues and scenes of interest. If connecting from off-campus and using library-subscribed resources, make sure your computer is configured properly.