Librarian/Curator for Slavic, Eastern European and Eurasian Studies
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
About This Guide
This guide serves as a portal for electronic resources relating to the Slavic, Eastern and Central European Studies. Intended as a "one-stop gateway," this guide contains links to various scholarly e-resources, including reference sources like online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and bibliographies; databases and indexes; e-book and journal collections; and online archives, image repositories, and maps. Please note that while some resources are freely available, others are subscription services provided by the UCLA Library, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
This guide serves as a starting point for researchers and students interested in Slavic and Eastern European Studies. It contains information on selected resources from the UCLA collections, as well as provides links to materials that are freely accessible elsewhere. This guide provides information on both print and electronic resources, as well as materials in other formats (e.g., microforms, films, images, etc.). (Please note that off-campus access to licensed resources requires user authentication through the proxy server.)
Note: I am still building this guide, so there are sure to be changes and updates. If you have any suggestions or recommendations, please feel free to email me or leave a comment on any of the boxes in this guide.
Major Online Sources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL) This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly and cultural publications from Central and Eastern Europe.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as LION. An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- Universal Database of Russian/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT-RUS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online versions of publications from the major Russian statistics agency Goskomstat Rossii and its regional statistics agencies, Statkomitet SNG, and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union. Statistical yearbooks, monthly analytical reports, regional statistical information, and annual statistical abstracts.
- Voprosy istorii: Complete Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly historical journal published by the Russian Academy of Sciences since 1926. - Voprosy literatury: Complete CollectionAuthoritative journal of literary criticism offering articles and roundtable transcripts dealing with problems of Russian and world literature, history, and theory of literature. v.1(1957) - present
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
Finding Books
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
Open Access Scholarly Sources
- Open Access eBooks at the University of Adelaide LibraryThe University of Adelaide includes many open access eBooks in their library catalog. Type your search terms into the library's search box, then select Open Access from the Show Only drop-down menu on the right-hand side of the screen.
- Bulgarian Virtual LibraryВиртуална библиотека „Словото“ си е поставила за цел да публикува в интернет всички значими произведения на българската литература
- Czech Literary Bibliography Research Infrastructure / Institute of Czech LiteratureThe Databases of Czech Literary Studies and Czech Studies contain a field-oriented bibliography which attempts to provide the fullest possible picture of Czech literary studies book and journal output published on the territory of Czechoslovakia and the Czech Republic. They have been created by means of transcriptions from Czech literary studies yearbooks (1967-1980 have so far been transcribed), transcription from card indexes of bibliographical material (1981-1989) and by ongoing excerption (from 1990 to the present).
- Biblioteka Literatury Polskiej = Virtual Library of Polish LiteratureThis website is part of UNESCO's "Publica" series. UNESCO promotes a strong public domain in which information and knowledge is accessible for all. Communication and information technologies can largely facilitate this access, particularly to classic works of world literature. UNESCO's "Publica" series, which is constituted by a collection of digitized texts from the world’s literary heritage, makes them available free-of-charge on-line (on the Internet) and off-line (CD-ROMs).
- Elektroniczna Baza Bibliografii Estreichera (EBBE)The Electronic Polish Bibliography Estreichera has two components: one from Old Polish to the nineteenth century, and one containing materials that will be added to the bibliography in the future.
- Maxim Gorky's Po Rusi. English; Through RussiaEBook is available open access through the University of Adelaide Library. Search for the title, then select Open Access on the menu on the left.
- Modern Russian WritersReference Guide-On-Line. Created by Boris Lanin and Tetsuo Mochizuki. Copyright 1997-2013 Slavic Research Center, Hokkaido University
- Nineteenth and Twentieth CenturyThe works of notable Russian/Soviet writers from the This section contains works of notable Russian/Soviet writers from the Nineteenth and Twentieth Century. The text is in Russian, with special reading aids for learners of that language.
- Philolog.ru-Petrozavodsk UniversityPhilolog.ru is web-site hosted by the Chair of Russian Literature at Petrozavodsk University. The web-site offers open access to classics of Russian Literature (Gogol', Dostoevsky etc) and to complete works of V. Dal', including his famous dictionary
- Woodrow Wilson International Center for ScholarsThe Woodrow Wilson Center promotes dialogue between scholars and public policy experts, then publishes the results. Their research reports focus on many parts of the globe. Please use the search engine to narrow your search to a specific geographical region.
Tips for Writing Academic Papers
- EndNote Basic This is a free web-based citation manager that will help you collect and organize references and build your citations into a bibliography. Need to use proxy server to access off-campus. Access discontinues once you graduate. A resource guide for using EndNote is available at: EndNote and EndNote Online