Librarian for Slavic Studies and Linguistics
Alena Aissing
Contact:
A1540 Charles E. Young Research Library
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
310-206-0324
Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Research Help for complete Library research support options.
How to Find Eastern Europe Related Research Materials and Books
- Complete ReviewProvides links to book reviews in English and several foreign languages.
- Книжное Обозрение (The Book Review)Book reviews of Russian and worldwide publishing. Includes press releases from publishers, interviews with authors and ciritics, and slected excerpts of publications.
- Russia/NIS Statistical PublicationsDespite the title that refers to statistical data from 2002, this resource provides links to statistical reports from 1998 to the present.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
- Papers of the Institute of Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies, UC BerkeleyThe Institute of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies is an organized research unit at the University of California, Berkeley that serves as the focal point for students and faculty who conduct research and teaching on the geographic region of the former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe.
- Publications of the Carnegie Moscow CenterAn assortment of books, bulletins, and briefings relating to the political situation in Russia and the countries of the Former Soviet Union. Useful for the coverage of current elections. Once in the JSTOR database, search for Carnegie Moscow Center.
Online Libraries
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- ProQuest E-book Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UCLA selectively licenses individual e-book titles from E-book Central. Titles are searchable from the ProQuest platform and in the UCLA Library Catalog. Formerly called ebrary. - UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 2000 University of California Press books covering a range of topics. More recent online publications from UC Press can be searched for in the UCLA Library Catalog. On the Advanced Search screen, search for University of California Press in Publication Information and limit to online. Formerly eScholarship Editions.