Slavic and East European Studies

The "Encyclopedia" covers the period 1953, with the death of Stalin, to the present day. Both 'Russian' and 'Culture' are defined broadly. 'Russian' refers to the Soviet Union until 1991 and the Russian Federation after 1991.

1930 literary encyclopedia for Russian/Soviet authors.

Updated Russian literary encyclopedia with many entries omitted from the earlier edition.

Guide to Polish emigre authors and their writings.

General, basic dictionary of Polish literature.

Dictionary of Polish 19th century literature.

Multi-volume dictionary of Czech writers and their works.

Dictionary of Czech literary periodicals and almanacs published after World War II.

Multi-volume dictionary of Bulgarian literature.

A guide to the symbols in Bulgarian literature.

Guide to Bulgarian authors and their works.

Dictionary of Hungarian literature and authors.

Dictionary and bio-bibliographical source on Hungarian literature.

Six volume dictionary of the literature and authors of Romania.

Dictionary of Romania's major author and their works.

One of the many dictionaries of old Slavic literature.

"...the most complete collection of primary material on Russian Futurism before the Revolution. The majority of these titles were reproduced from copies in two large private collections in England and France."

A collection of hagiographies; translations of paterika and hagiographies, reference works, etc.

Reproductions of nearly 500 books printed in Russia before Peter the Great. Titles recorded in Zernova's Knigi kirillovskoi pechati izdannye v Moskve v XVI-XVII vekakh.

"...Items selected from the Svodnyi katalog russkoi knigi grazhdanskoi pechati XVIII-ogo veka". This continuing collection now contains over 800 reels.

Facsimile edition of the 18 handwritten working notebooks of A.S. Pushkin, never before published, containing both draft and final versions of many of his major works.

A collection of rare Slavonic manuscripts compiled by Dean S. Worth and Anthony-Emil N. Tachaios.

This set attempts to bring together the scattered existing materials on literary figures, national literatures and related disciplines. It covers many aspects of Russian and Soviet cultural life which relate to literature and includes major emigre writers, past and present. While the emphasis is still on Russian, more attention is now given to the literatures of newly independent nations, including those of the Turkic, Armenian, Georgian, and Baltic peoples.

A collection of chronicles and other Old Russian texts.