Slavic and East European Studies

1910-1959

1916-1959

1910-1959. Because the correspondence with US diplomatic and consular offices in Imperial Russia between 1910-1917 was limited, and formal relations between the US and Russia after the November Revolution were discontinued, most of the dispatches reproduced in these sets came from diplomatic and consular offices in the Baltic States, in the Scandinavian countries, Poland, Germany and China.

1918-1949

1910-1959

1930-1944

1910-1944

1910-1944. Before 1917 the documents are mostly instructions to and dispatches from diplomatic and consular officials. As there were no American diplomatic representatives in Moscow after 1917, most records originated from Vladivostok during the years 1917-1919 and from American diplomatic posts in the Baltic States, Czechoslovakia, Sweden, Germany and China during the years 1920-29.

1945-1963

1910-1929

1910-1929

1910-1929

1910-1929

1941-1961. Consist of monographs and reports prepared by leading scholars for the Office of Strategic Services and the U.S. State Department during World War II and the postwar period.

1942-1953. Includes material on U.S. military and diplomatic policy toward the Soviet Union. The records of the Joint Chief of Staff cover a variety of strategic topics such as Allied aircraft and bombing missions.

1919-1944. American military staff reported on military affairs, domestic politics and government, and foreign affairs based on interviews with military and government officials, evaluations of activities of political parties, and eyewitness coverage of military action.

1918-1941. Largely reports from the US military attache and his assistants in Russia and the USSR.

1946-1976. Cover all aspects of area studies as well as U.S. foreign policy toward both allies and adversaries, examining important developments in domestic politics, military affairs, economic matters, and foreign relations.

1961-1963. Documents critical developments in the evolution of U.S. relations with Moscow and its satellites between 1961 and 1963. Includes documents on the Cuban Missile Crisis and the Nuclear Test Ban Treaty.

1963-1969. Johnson's years as president marked an important transitional period in the Cold War. These documents give a good sense of the day-to-day management of U.S.-Soviet relations and a particularly good indication of the ways in which the Vietnam War affected the relationship.

1970-1994. Studies on the Soviet Union from universities, colleges, corporations, think tanks, and individuals contracted by the U.S. Government to provide data and analysis.

Russia 1859-1914, Soviet Union 1917-1939, Soviet Union and Finland 1940-1950. The Confidential Print includes diplomatic despatches and other papers printed for limited internal circulation within the British government. Contents include materials on political, economic, and social conditions throughout the Russian Empire and Soviet Union.

1947-1991. The set publishes together for the first time more than 600 intelligence estimates and reports, representing nearly 14,000 pages of documentation from the office of the Director of Central Intelligence, the National Intelligence Council, the CIA, the Defense Intelligence Agency, and other organizations, as well as the Pentagon's 1,000-page internal history of the United States-Soviet arms race.

Reproduces 240 titles published in the period 1900-1930 on outlawed and suppressed Russian political parties of the late 19th and early 20th century. Included are populist, agrarian, terrorist, and early socialist groups.

This is designed to be the most comprehensive aid to the study of the Russian past ever created in English. It encompasses all major facts, events, personalities, and institutions important to the history of the Russian Empire, the Soviet Union, and post-Soviet Russia.

The final and most comprehensive population census of the former Soviet Union ever conducted. Contains data from the 24-vol., 15,000 page printed version in database format, with interactive maps. In both English and Russian.

An illustrated account of the history and culture, as well as the political, social, and economic life of the Russian Empire during the late 19th and early 20th century.

A 14-volume anthology of scholarly articles, lectures, roundtables, and excerpts from unpublished dissertations and manuscripts never previously available as a coherent unit. The set covers social, cultural, and economic history.

A collection of thousands of scarce books on 19th and early 20th century Russia from the Helsinki University Library. Guide.

A collection of pamphlets, booklets, and brochures in both English and Russian which chronicles all facets of development in the Soviet Union during the first 40 years of its existence.

1917-1941. Archival files on life in the formative years of the Soviet regime and about the problems confronting the state and population.

Socio-political and historical pamphlets of the 19th and 20th centuries. Each title in the collection is cataloged individually. Series record and Guide.

Materials on aspects of Russian society compiled by statisticians from provincial administrative agencies established after the reforms of the 1860s. Besides agricultural economy, there are data on public health, education and industry. Includes materials on the Kostroma, Moscow, Riazan, and Saratov regions, as well as general works. Guide.

Contains data on population, economic reforms, foreign trade, environment, health statistics, politics, etc.

A collection of political publications, campaign literature, audio- and video cassettes prepared and distributed for recent election campaigns.