Librarian for Slavic Studies and Linguistics
Alena Aissing
Contact:
A1540 Charles E. Young Research Library
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
310-206-0324
Databases
- Empire Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Primary source manuscripts and secondary essays relevant to Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion & Empire; and Race, Class & Colonialism, 1783-1969.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
Primary Sources for History and Political Science
- Diplomatic Correspondence of British Ministers to the Russian Court, 1704-1776The diplomatic dispatches were originally published in Sbornik imperatorskago russkago istoricheskago obshchestva. The letters, mostly in English, contain information about the relations of two of the major powers of Europe, and therefore indirectly about international relations during the 18th century.
- Russian Empire, 1801-1899 (British Diplomatic Blue Books series)Consists of dispatches and reports that arrived at the British Foreign and Colonial Offices. These Parliamentary Papers were presented to the House of Commons and contain materials on the Napoleonic Wars (1806-1816), Turkish affairs and the Crimean War (1828-1880), Polish affairs (1831-1898), Central Asia (1873-1895), the Hague Conference (1899), and other events. Guide.
- Papers of Queen Victoria on Foreign Affairs: Russia & Eastern Europe, 1846-1900This part of the Royal Archives collection on Russia deals with Russia's relations with France and Germany, the complications of the Sino-Japanese war and the purchase of Alaska. Guide.
- Russia in Transition: The Diplomatic Papers of David Rowland Francis, U.S. Ambassador to Russia, 1916-18Chronicles American involvement in and perceptions of the Russian Revolution through reports and letters to the State Department and to friends and associates in America. Guide.
- British Foreign Office Russia Correspondence, 1883-1948"The records of the London Files containing material received from abroad or from London. In addition the collection includes public proclamations by various national leaders, governments and organizations, communications with foreign governments, pertinent publications, personal requests made of the Foreign Office and records of parliamentary questions directed to the Foreign Office."
- U.S. Confidential Diplomatic Post Records; Russia and the Soviet Union, 1914-1941; Parts 1-3Covers congresses and conferences, commerce, relations of states and the internal affairs of state. Guides: DK254 .C66 Guide I, II, III
Materials on the Russian Revolution
- Newspapers from the Russian Revolutionary EraThe collection is based on the holdings of Columbia University's Lehman Library. It consists of Russian and foreign newspapers covering almost every facet of the Russian revolution, providing local and outside views of the turbulent era. Newspapers are cataloged individually.
- Russian Revolutionary LiteratureThe collection includes 1170 titles from Harvard's Houghton Library and other sources. It covers the period beginning with the 1825 Decembrist uprising to 1917 and beyond. It contains books, pamphlets, journals, ephemeral and anonymous works. Most of the material was published abroad or on underground presses within Russia, but a few legally-issued publications of major authors are also in the collection.
- Russian Revolutionary Pamphlets, 1860-1923Reproductions of 243 pamphlets unique to the British Library of Political and Economic Science (London School of Economics)