Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Quick Links
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.
Design Media Arts: Selected Images
Finnish designer Armi Ratia displaying Fieldcrest Marimekko Oy Collection of bed and bath textiles in Los Angeles, Calif., 1972
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Poesía para el camino N.°2, la Unión de Escritores Jóvenes
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Exhibit of 1960s outer space influenced office furniture at International Design Center, Los Angeles, 1964
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
The Typography of Eric Gill
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Major Online Sources
There are a number of library catalogs available to UCLA researchers
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- Art Discovery Group CatalogueSearch a subset of Worldcat data to hone in on art-historical literature held in an ever-increasing number of the world’s finest art and architecture libraries.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
These online sources are good places to start researching most design and media arts topics. Consult the sources listed under the categories listed on the left of the page for additional suggestions.
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window High-resolution Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Images are contributed by museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists, and estates, from a variety of sources including the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts. UC campuses contribute additional images including: the Archivision Library, Saskia Art & Architecture images, the Visual Resources Collections from UCB, UCSB, UCI, UCLA, UCR, and the UCSC Library Instructional Collection. Now hosted on the JSTOR platform.
- This link opens in a new window
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online portal with access to e-books, reference works, images, and more on world dress and fashion throughout history. UCLA subscribes to this one module of Bloomsbury Fashion Central. - Design Library - Bloomsbury This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.
- E-books at UCLAA research guide to help you find the 1000s of e-books available in the UCLA Library.
- Getty Publications Virtual LibraryMore than 300 Getty Publications books available to read and download for free
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
- Internet Archive: eBooks and TextsScanned public domain books from numerous research libraries, including some from the UC system.
- MIT Press Direct E-books, 1943-2021 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of e-books from MIT Press, including works in arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences disciplines.
- Online Scholarly Catalog InitiativeIncludes online catalogs for the Art Institute of Chicago; the Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery; the Los Angeles County Museum of Art; the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.; the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; the Seattle Art Museum; Tate; and the Walker Art Center.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate and other imprints. Some CRC Press handbooks can also be accessed via this particular site. - O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OHE includes more than 38K computer science, engineering, business book titles from 200+ publishers, as well as video, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more. Includes pre-publication titles published by O'Reilly. Titles are HTML only. Replaces the Safari Tech Books Online collection.
Note: Access with Single Sign On after choosing University of California, Los Angeles from the list of institutions. Access is limited to current students, staff, and faculty at UC campuses. No community use.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immense array of books, chapters, conference proceedings and journal articles in the social sciences and sciences, published by Springer-Verlag. After searching, unclick Preview Only Content, whose materials are not under UCLA subscription. Advanced search enabled at wheel icon to right of search.
- Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Art and Architecture Archive offers an
amazing array of titles, including Architectural Review, British Journal of Photography, Graphis, Print,
and many others previously unavailable in digital form, scanned cover to cover as full-page color
images, with searchable text and article level indexing. - BrowZine Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BrowZine allows you to browse selected scholarly journals available from the UCLA Library or from open sources on your computer, tablet, iPhone or Android smartphone. Access the web version here, and learn more about both the app and BrowZine features via the Library guide. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fifteen databases, plus individual journals and e-books. Includes 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.
- Find Journals at UCLATwo ways to search: Enter a journal title in the search box.
Use the Journals by category option to browse journals by broad subject category. - designinform Research Guides No.2: Free-access, digitised art, architecture, design and craft journals on the InternetA designinform Research Guide that provides links to digitized journals that are freely available on the Internet.
- DOAJ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
Consult the Article Indexes and Databases page to locate articles through databases.
Additional information about locating online journals is available on the Arts Library Browsing Guide.
- UCLA RemapExplores "new enriching cultural forms and empowering social situations enabled by the thoughtful interweaving of engineering, the arts and community development."
- UCLA Art | Sci Center + Lab"Dedicated to pursuing and promoting the evolving “Third Culture” by facilitating the infinite potential of collaborations between (media) arts and (bio/nano) sciences."
- UCLA Game LabA "research center at the University of Los Angeles California. It is supported by the School of the Arts and Architecture and the School of Theater, Film and Television."