Design Media Arts

Articulating Design Thinking contains a collection of thought-provoking papers from researchers based in eight different countries around the world Sweden, Italy, Denmark, Israel, UK, USA, Australia and Turkey that all deal with articulations of design thinking from a variety of disciplinary perspectives. These include: architecture, inclusive design, industrial design, and interaction design.

It has become standard practice in design education to teach designers to develop their own voice and create self-initiated projects. In this book, Steven McCarthy, a professor of graphic design at the University of Minnesota and an expert on the subject, provides an overview of the phenomenon of design authorship and interviews many international designers who have taken on different roles as authors or producers of their own projects.

Now in its second edition, the highly popular Design Thinking for Visual Communication identifies methods and thought processes used by designers in order to start the process that eventually leads to a finished piece of work. Step-by-step guidance for each part of the process is highlighted by real-life case studies, enabling the student to see teaching in practice.

Driving Desired Futures asks how established innovations arise from a simple idea. What criteria are mostly likely to be the basis from which the ideas of an individual can take hold in a social system? What are conditions, under which they can become incorporated into a diverse group of people? What topics induce managers to choose and then to invest in a specific idea? Questions such as these are pursued in international contributions by renowned experts, using the first digital camera as a case study.

In this book, Kees Dorst describes a new, innovation-centered approach to problem-solving in organizations- frame creation. It applies "design thinking," but it goes beyond the borrowed tricks and techniques that usually characterize that term. Frame creation focuses not on the generation of solutions but on the ability to create new approaches to the problem situation itself. The strategies Dorst presents are drawn from the unique, sophisticated, multilayered practices of top designers, and from insights that have emerged from fifty years of design research.

This book presents linkography, a method for the notation and analysis of the design process. Developed by Gabriela Goldschmidt in an attempt to clarify designing, linkography documents how designers think, generate ideas, put them to the test, and combine them into something meaningful. With linkography, Goldschmidt shows that there is a logic to the creative process--that it is not, as is often supposed, pure magic. Linkography draws on design practice, protocol analysis, and insights from cognitive psychology.

Strategic Design Thinking guides readers to cultivate hybrid thinking, whether their background is design, finance, or any discipline in between. The focus is on process instead of solution, and on connecting disparate ideas instead of getting bogged down by silos of specialization. Through this book, students will be introduced to design management, strategic design, service design, and experience design.

Thinking Visually for Illustrators features a wide range of work, demonstrating diverse visual languages, context, ideas, techniques and skills. It also looks at the ways in which illustrators develop their own personal visual language. Contemporary illustrators from all over the world engaged in a diverse range of approaches to the discipline have contributed their artwork and commentaries on visual thinking and the working process.

Featuring completely new coverage of visual note-taking in a digital world, Visual Notes for Architects and Designers, Second Edition demonstrates how to make rapid, notational sketches that serve as visual records for future reference, as well as improve understanding and facilitate the development of ideas. You gain access to simple techniques for collecting, analyzing, and applying information.

In this book, Colin Ware takes what we now know about perception, cognition, and attention and transforms it into concrete advice that designers can directly apply. He demonstrates how designs can be considered as tools for cognition - extensions of the viewer's brain in much the same way that a hammer is an extension of the user's hand.

Whether it's writing a book, animating a shot, designing a game level or composing a soundtrack--ultimately, we're all facing similar challenges. Since we share challenges, we can also share solutions. This book is a practical guide, featuring a universal creative process that can streamline any serious creative work, on any scale.

This Annual presents award-winning work from several talented ad agencies. This Annual is an important resource for Art Directors, Clients, Museums, Students, Advertising enthusiasts, and anyone who seeks visual inspiration.

This Annual is an important resource for Designers, Art Directors, Clients, Museums, Design enthusiasts, and anyone who seeks visual inspiration.

The Art Directors Annual is the world's most widely distributed creative awards reference book and source of inspiration, honoring the year's best work in design and advertising around the globe. Every winning entry (including all Cube and Merit winners) is reproduced in full-color with complete credits.

Features design profiles and interviews with the winners, speakers, and judges from the annual conference.

This annual includes all of the winners of the One Show but also exclusive commentary from winners.

One Show Design, features all of the winners from the One Show Design competition. With categories including brand and corporate identity, package, environmental and broadcast design from iconic brands, this new annual features the best in design from all over the world. The work highlighted in these pages reflects the merging of advertising and marketing communications with design and the impact that design plays in our everyday culture. With full-color images, this book also includes lively text from the creatives explaining the inspiration behind each piece.

One Show Interactive showcases the best of the year's winners from around the world.

The designers of this world are constantly on the lookout for new answers to the challenges of our times. They present their best design concepts to the jury of the red dot design award, one of the most significant contests for international design in comparison. Its jury identifies the most interesting and fascinating products; their designs and winners are presented.

Entries Selected for Typographic Excellence and for Excellence in Type Design; Judges' Choices and Designers' Statements

The Routledge Companion to Design Studies embraces the wide range of scholarship relating to design - theoretical, practice-related and historical - that has emerged over the last four decades. Comprised of forty-three newly-commissioned essays, contributors include both established and emerging scholars offering an international scope.

Design Studies: A Reader is the ideal entry point for any student who wants to understand the many complex roles of design - as process, product, function, symbol, and use. Reflecting the diverse range of perspectives on design, the reader brings together over seventy key texts. The essays are presented in themed sections covering history, methods, theory, visuality, identity, consumption, labor, industrialization, new technology, sustainability, and globalization.

A Companion to Contemporary Design since 1945 introduces readers to a collection of specially commissioned essays exploring the complex areas of design that emerged through the latter half of the twentieth century, design history, design methods, design studies and more recently, design thinking. The book delivers a thoughtful overview of all design disciplines and also strives to stimulate inter-disciplinary debate and examine unconsidered convergences among design applications in different fields.

Designers who ignore research run the risk of becoming mere tools for communication rather than bold voices. Design Studies, a collection of 27 essays from an international cast of top design researchers, sets out to mend this schism between research and practice. The texts presented here make a strong argument for performing rigorous experimentation and analysis.