Featured Books from the Powell Library Community Collection
Once upon a Pixel by ISBN: 1138499765Date: 2019-11-08Once Upon a Pixel examines the increasing sophistication of storytelling and worldbuilding in modern video games. Drawing on some of gaming's most popular titles, including Red Dead Redemption 2, The Last of Us, Horizon Zero Dawn, and the long-running Metal Gear Solid series, it is a pioneering exploration into narrative in games from the perspective of the creative writer. With interviews and insights from across the industry, it provides a complete account of how Triple-A, independent, and even virtual reality games are changing the way we tell stories.
About the UCLA Video Game Collections
Materials related to video games are located in several of the campus libraries, including the Powell Library, Music Library, and Arts Library, as well as online. The UCLA Library Video Game collections bring together *games, **consoles, music, and writing on video games.
Use the Games, Collections, and Consoles at the UCLA Library tab on this research guide to find tips for searching library collections and connecting to game-related content at the UCLA Library.
*A Bruin Card is required to borrow video games. To check one out, bring the empty display case to Powell's Inquiry Desk.
**Consoles are available upon request.
Featured Video Games and Consoles
Below is a selection of games for the Playstation 3 console available through the UCLA Library. A list of PS3 games can be found by following this link to the Library Catalog.
- Final fantasy X / X-2 HD Remaster byCall Number: GV1469.35.F56 F5 2014 [Powell Library]"Final fantasy X: In the world of Spira, join the summoner Yuna in her quest to destroy the monster Sin.
Final fantasy X-2: Yuna seeks to resolve various conflicts among factions that are developing as the world of Spira changes." - Journey (Collector's Edition) byCall Number: GV1469.35.J68 J6 2012 [Powell Library]"Bonus content includes all three original sountracks, concept art galleries, an exclusive documentary, game commentaries, PSN avatars, and much more. Also includes FlOw and Flower, and three never before released mini-games"--Container.
- Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 ReMIX byCall Number: GV1469.35.K56 K5 2013 [Powell Library]"Players can now relive the origins of the celebrated franchise with Sora, Riku and the colorful cast of Disney characters, including Mickey, Donald and Goofy." --Product Details
Below is a selection of games for the Playstation 4 console available through the UCLA Library. A list of PS4 games can be found by following this link to the Library Catalog.
- Last of Us (Remastered) byCall Number: GV1469.35.L278 L2 2014 [Powell Library]"Joel and Ellie, brought together by harsh circumstance, must survive a brutal journey across the US in a dangerous post-pandemic world. Remastered features ... includes additional game content: delve into Ellie's past in Left behind, the single-player prequel chapter, eight new multiplayer maps in the abandoned and reclaimed territories packs, [and] in-game cinematic commentary"--Container.
- Destiny 2: byCall Number: GV1469.35.D47 D472 2017 [Powell Library]"From the makers of the acclaimed hit game Destiny, comes the much-anticipated sequel. An action shooter that takes you on an epic journey across the solar system. Humanity's last safe city has fallen to an overwhelming invasion force, led by Ghaul, the imposing commander of the brutal Red Legion. To defeat the Red Legion and confront Ghaul, you must reunite humanity's scattered heroes, stand together, and fight back to reclaim our home."
Below is a selection of games for the Xbox 360 console available through the UCLA Library. A list of Xbox 360 games can be found by following this link to the Library Catalog.
- Bioshock Infinite byCall Number: GV1469.35.B358 B4 2014 [Powell Library]"The year is 1912. Deep in debt, Booker DeWitt has only one opportunity for a clean slate: rescue Elizabeth, a mysterious girl imprisoned since childhood in the flying city of Columbia. Forced to trust one another, they must harness an expanding arsenal of weapons and abilities as they fight to survive the threats of the city and uncover its dark secrets." --Container
- Elder Scrolls: Skyrim byCall Number: GV1469.35.E43 E43 2011 [Powell Library]"Dragons, long lost to the passages of the Elder Scrolls, have returned to Tamriel and the future of the Empire hangs in the balance. As Dragonborn, the prophesized hero born with the power of The Voice, you are the only one who can stand amongst them"--Container.
- Mass Effect byCall Number: GV1469.35.M368 M37 2007 [Powell Library]"As Commander Shepard, you lead an elite squad on a heroic adventure throughout the galaxy. Discover the imminent danger from an ancient threat and battle the traitorous Saren and his deadly army to save civilization."
Below is a selection of games for the Xbox One console available through the UCLA Library. A list of Xbox One games can be found in the Library Catalog.
Assassin's Creed by Call Number: GV1469.35.A87 A873 2013 [Powell Library]The Caribbean, 1715. Legendary pirates rule the land and sea, plundering fortunes and bringing empires to their knees. Among these outlaws is Edward Kenway, a fearless young captain who earns the respect of the pirates, but whose thirst for gold and glory may destroy everything they have built.
Dragon Age: Inquisition by Call Number: GV1469.35.D74 D7 2014 [Powell Library]"Recruit legendary warriors to fight by your side as you hunt down agents of chaos and lead the Inquisision. A blast rips a hole in the sky, unleashing an army of demons from the mysterious realm known as the Fade. As the blast's sole survivor, only you and your team can bring the world back from the brink of destruction."--Container.
Grand Theft Auto V by Call Number: GV1469.35.G738 G736 2014 [Powell Library]"When a young street hustler, a retired bank robber and a terrifying psychopath find themselves entangled with some of the most frightening and deranged elements of the criminal underworld, the U.S. government and the entertainment industry, they must pull off a series of dangerous heists to survive in a ruthless city in which they can trust nobody, least of all each other."--Container.
Below is a selection of games for the Nintendo Wii U console available through the UCLA Library. A list of Wii U games can be found in the Library Catalog.
- Mario Kart 8 byCall Number: GV1469.35.M355 M2 2014 [Powell Library]"Defy the laws of gravity in the wildest Mario kart game yet. New boomerang, piranha plant, super horn ... optional motion-steering, share highlight reels, 12-player online racing"--Container.
- Super Smash Bros. byCall Number: GV1469.35.S98 S87 2014 [Powell Library]"Nintendo all-stars do battle!"--Container.
You can search the UCLA Library Catalog by title if you know the name of the game you want. Otherwise, search the catalog under the following subject headings to find more materials.
Subject Headings for Video Games |
|---|
| Nintendo Wii video games |
| Playstation video games |
| Video games |
| Video games--Handbooks, manuals, etc. |
| Video games--Philosophy |
| Video games--Psychological aspects |
| Video games--Social aspects |
| Video games--Study and teaching |
| Xbox video games |