African American Studies
Get started with...
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases, including International Index to Black Periodicals, Black Literature Index and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (interdisciplinary essays written by leading scholars on the Black Experience). - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Black Studies Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes both scholarly and popular press journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary, including cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues. Formerly titled International Index to Black Periodicals (IIPA).
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
American Indian Studies
Get started with...
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital collection exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Contains more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images from pre-contact to the present day. - Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, essays, journal articles, US and Canadian government documents, and other publications concerning the history, life, and culture of native North Americans from the 16th century to the present. Contains the citations from the eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Anthropology
Get started with...
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains records from Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index for journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, ethnography, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers the late 19th century to the present. - AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes backfiles and current issues of American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, NAPA Bulletin, and PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review, plus a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Archaeology
Get started with...
- Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An international critical and analytical bibliography of ancient Greek and Latin languages and literatures and all aspects of classical studies. Citations and abstracts for books, journal articles, festschriften, and other collections from the mid 1950s onwards, except for the most recent three or four years. Also known as Database of Classical Bibliography. - eHRAF Collection of Archaeology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, indexed collections of documents on archaeological traditions, subtraditions, and important sites worldwide, from Human Relations Area Files, Inc. - International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East for the period 300-1500. Comprehensive current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Asian American Studies
Get started with...
- Asia-Studies Full-text Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text research and reports on business, government, economic, and social issues from 55 countries. Subject coverage includes finance, trade, environment, government, fisheries, tourism, education, and women's studies. Most contain statistical tables, charts, and/or graphs. Also includes Asia-Studies Humanities, focusing on arts, culture, history, language, literature, philosophy, and religion. - Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Chicana and Chicano Studies
Get started with...
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded in 1992 to include the broader Latinx experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Communication
Get started with...
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Abstracts may be searched by word, phrase, or author. The database is updated at intervals throughout the year with both older and newer materials. - Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 4,500 electronic files of relevance to communication professionals and students: communication bibliographies, syllabi, journal articles, research tools, descriptions of graduate programs, archives of CIOS/Comserve hotline dialogue, Master Scholars collection. All resources are fully indexed.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Economics
Get started with...
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Coverages dates back to 1886. Content also includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text of the Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. - CEICdata: Global Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global economic data, including normalized GDP, CPI, imports, exports, retail sales, and interest rates. Optional registration allows personalization, but "guest access" (plus authentication) provides access to UCLA's subscription, which consists of these two modules: the Global Database and the High Frequency Database.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The fundamental research tool in economics with bibliographic citations, and some abstracts, to the international literature on economics since 1969. Subjects covered include book reviews, business, economics, finance, industry and statistics. - IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new windowAnalysis of finance, development, macroeconomics, poverty reduction, trade, and globalization from the International Monetary Fund. Includes Balance of Payments (BOP), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS), International Finance Statistics (IFS), and more.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Gender Studies
Get started with...
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text publications focusing on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Geography
Get started with...
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
History
Get started with...
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guides...
Political Science
Get started with...
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks, now a part of Oxford Academic, provide review articles which summarize and analyze current research and trends in a given discipline. UCLA subscribes to most Oxford Handbooks Online, excluding a few individual titles. - CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for research in American government, politics, legislation, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Congress Collection, and Voting and Elections Collection. (For CQ Press e-books, see Sage Knowledge). Access to CQ Congress Collection and CQ Voting Elections Collection will end on Dec 31, 2024.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Sociology
Get started with...
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers research, policy, and practice literature from 1970 to the present. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.