Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian
Top resources for Anthropology
- Ethnographic Video Online: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Volumes I and II of Ethnographic Video Online. Contains streaming video of documentary footage focused on the study of human culture and behavior. Includes ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, interviews, field notes, and study guides. See also volume III, Indigenous Voices; and, volume IV, Festivals and Archives.
For example, this video, "Reinventing Cuba" documents changes in Cuba.
- International Digital Ephemera Project (IDEP)An initiative to digitize, preserve and provide broad public access to print, images, multimedia, and social networking resources produced worldwide.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants. - Sage Data (powered by Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of publicly, privately, and commercially sourced statistical time-series data, with integrated analysis and mapping tools.
Items exported from Data-Planet are assigned a DOI (digital object identifier) so that they can be cited and the source of the information is identified.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, reference works, and instructional videos about qualitative and quantitative methodologies in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Research Tools (online tools for planning research and choosing methods), Cases (examples of real research), Video (research process, data science, and methods) and Datasets (sample data chosen specifically to support practice with various statistical analysis methods). Includes Diversifying and Decolonizing Research, and Sage Research Methods Video: Quantitative and Mixed Methods.
Fellowships and Research Support
- UCLA Graduate Writing CenterThe Graduate Writing Center offers individual consultations and group workshops, including dissertation and master's thesis "boot camps," to all registered UCLA graduate and professional school students.
How to Write a Research Grant Proposal - and Succeed by
The Grant Writer's Handbook: How to Write a Research Proposal and Succeed provides useful and practical advice on all aspects of proposal writing, including developing proposal ideas, drafting the proposal, dealing with referees, and budgeting. The authors base their advice on many years of experience writing and reviewing proposals in many different countries at various levels of scientific maturity. The book describes the numerous kinds of awards available from funding agencies, in particular large collaborative grants involving a number of investigators, and addresses the practical impact of a grant, which is often required of proposals. In addition, information is provided about selection of reviewers and the mechanics of organizing a research grant competition to give the proposal writer the necessary background information. The book includes key comments from a number of experts and is essential reading for anyone writing a research grant proposal.
Call Number: Q180.55.G7 C73 2016ISBN: 9781783267590Date: 2016-02-29
- IDRE: Institute for Digital Research and EducationUCLA's Statistical Lab, GIS Support, and Software Central
Publishing Your Work
- Where can I publish my research article?AAA's guide
