Librarian
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Services
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Instructions for making an interlibrary loan request for materials not located at UCLA.
Conducting Economic Research at UCLA
This research guide will point you toward online research resources and strategies available to you as scholars doing research in economics at UCLA. You will also find some help locating online and print resources in our library catalogs.
Visit this guide regularly to check for upcoming library events, as well as newly acquired resources to help you in your research process. If your area of research is outside economics, consider contacting the appropriate subject specialist.
Quick Links
Staying Current in Economics: Scan the quarterly issues of the Journal of Economic Literature.
- eScholarship, University of California This link opens in a new window
UC's open access repository. Contains books, journals, working papers, conference publications, postprints, theses, and dissertations.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
- Finance CalculatorsCalculators for each encounter with the cruel world of finances: business planning, investing, tax paying, debt managing, and many others.
Online Economic E-Book Databases
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online library of e-books, e-periodicals, and interactive statistical databases produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). - Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books from Oxford University Press. UCLA subscribes to only some titles, mostly in the fields of economics and finance, history, law, philosophy, political science, and religion. - Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic, and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects. Continually updated with new volumes taken from the print series as soon as they become available. - The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. - SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immense array of books, chapters, conference proceedings and journal articles in the social sciences and sciences, published by Springer-Verlag. After searching, unclick Preview Only Content, whose materials are not under UCLA subscription. Advanced search enabled at wheel icon to right of search.
Prof. Lloyd Shapley, 2012 Nobel Laureate
Congratulations to Professor Emeritus Lloyd S. Shapley of the UCLA Departments of Economics and Mathematics for being awarded the 2012 Nobel Prize in Economics. He shares the prize with Professor Alvin E. Roth of Harvard University.