African Studies
Get started with...
- Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Material on Africa from the 19th century to the present. Sources include books, journal and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, and music recordings. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- International African Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 140.000 entries published in the International African Bibliography from 1971 to 2015. The IABO can be browsed by categories and offers detailed search options. - Oxford Bibliographies Online: African Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of African Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guides...
Asian Studies
Get started with...
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971. - Asia-Studies Full-text Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text research and reports on business, government, economic, and social issues from 55 countries. Subject coverage includes finance, trade, environment, government, fisheries, tourism, education, and women's studies. Most contain statistical tables, charts, and/or graphs. Also includes Asia-Studies Humanities, focusing on arts, culture, history, language, literature, philosophy, and religion.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Chinese Studies
Get started with...
- Asia-Studies Full-text Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text research and reports on business, government, economic, and social issues from 55 countries. Subject coverage includes finance, trade, environment, government, fisheries, tourism, education, and women's studies. Most contain statistical tables, charts, and/or graphs. Also includes Asia-Studies Humanities, focusing on arts, culture, history, language, literature, philosophy, and religion. - Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971. - China Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from Chinese journals beginning with 1994. UCLA subscribes to series F (literature / history / philosophy), G (politics / military affairs / law), H (education & social sciences), and J (economy & management). For older Chinese journals, see Century Journals Project.
- Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS)(Chinese) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical and life science, and social science.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guides...
East Asian Studies
Get started with...
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
International Development Studies
Get started with...
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Coverages dates back to 1886. Content also includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text of the Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Global Studies
Get started with...
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Islamic Studies
Get started with...
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content in Oxford Biblical Studies Online and Oxford Islamic Studies Online has moved to Oxford Reference, Oxford Handbooks Online or Oxford Scholarship Online as of June 21, 2022. Search for your topics in these sources.
- BrillOnline Reference Works This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject encyclopedias in classics, Middle East and Islamic studies, African studies, and international law. UCLA has selected access. Titles with a green box are available.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Japanese Studies
Get started with...
- CiNii: Institutional Package This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database that enables searching of information on academic articles published in Japanese academic society journals or university research bulletins, or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. Full-text access is available for many articles.
- JapanKnowledge Lib This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to Japanese reference sources including encyclopedias and dictionaries. Also provides full text of the series Toyo Bunko (Heibonsha), Tenno Kozoku Jitsuroku (Records of the Emperor and the Imperial Family), and the weekly Economist magazine. Nikkoku Online is accessible from JapanKnowledge site.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Jewish Studies
Get started with...
- Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, annually published guide to articles, book reviews, feature stories, and other contents in English, appearing in more than 200 specialized Jewish studies periodicals published in the United States, Canada, England, Israel, South Africa, and Australia. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Korean Studies
Get started with...
- Korean Studies Information Service System (KISS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text databases of Korean scholarly journal articles published from approximately 1100 research institutions in Korea. All the titles include all the available issues from the beginning, and have keyword searching capability. - DBPIA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text databases including approximately 915 titles of Korean scholarly journal articles. All the journal titles are divided into 10 subject categories and all of them contain all the available issues from the beginning. Keyword search available.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Latin American Studies
Get started with...
- Bibliografia Mesoamericana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable bibliography for Mesoamerican studies, across a range of disciplines. Provides access to the scholarly literature on ancient Mesoamerica from 1960 to the present. - Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS. Humanities coverage includes: art, history, literature, music, and philosophy. Social Sciences coverage includes archeology, ethnology, economics, geography, government and politics, international relations, political economy, and sociology. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center. - RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal This link opens in a new windowFull-text searchable electronic journal archive of social science, humanities, natural and physical science journals produced in Iberoamerica.
- SciELO This link opens in a new windowThe objective of SciELO Social Sciences English Edition is to contribute to the promotion of international access to Latin American scientific journals in Social Sciences. Its main characteristic is to make available English full texts, at no charge to the public, in order to increase Latin America Social Sciences visibility and accessibility.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Get started with...
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
South Asian Studies
Get started with...
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
For more complete listings, check out the following subject guide...
Southeast Asian Studies
Get started with...
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.