Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Check out our FAQ
Connect with a subject specialist
Quick Links
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.
Major Online Sources
These online sources are good places to start researching most design and media arts topics. Consult the sources listed under the categories listed on the left of the page for additional suggestions.
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly articles, theses, and books, from academic publishers, professional societies, universities and other web sites. Users will need to set-up a proxy server or VPN to gain access to Google Scholar.
Library Catalogs
There are a number of library catalogs available to UCLA researchers.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Looking for E-books?
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. - Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online portal with access to e-books, reference works, images, and more on world dress and fashion throughout history. UCLA subscribes to this one module of Bloomsbury Fashion Central. - Design Library - Bloomsbury This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day. Includes Designer Biographies.
- E-books at UCLAA research guide to help you find the 1000s of e-books available in the UCLA Library.
- Getty Publications Virtual LibraryMore than 300 Getty Publications books available to read and download for free
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized books from many academic institutions, including UCLA. Books still under copyright are searchable, but not viewable online. In response to disruptions from COVID-19, UCLA students, staff, and faculty currently have expanded access to digitized materials via the Emergency Temporary Access Service. Click "LOG IN" on the HathiTrust homepage for more full text access.
- Internet Archive: eBooks and TextsScanned public domain books from numerous research libraries, including some from the UC system.
- MIT Press Direct eBooks, 1943-2021 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of e-books from MIT Press, including works in arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences disciplines.
- Online Scholarly Catalog InitiativeIncludes online catalogs for the Art Institute of Chicago; the Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery; the Los Angeles County Museum of Art; the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.; the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; the Seattle Art Museum; Tate; and the Walker Art Center.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate, CRC Press, and others. Includes communication and media studies. - O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 24,000 technology, digital media, and business books. Individual chapters can be printed, but not downloaded as a PDF. Provides a search engine to search across all books. - SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is in 13 subject areas, including Architecture & Design, Professional Computing & Web Design, and much more.
Looking for E-Journals?
- Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes an array of titles, such as Architectural Review, British Journal of Photography, Graphis, Print, and many others, with searchable text and article level indexing. - BrowZine Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BrowZine allows you to browse selected scholarly journals available from the UCLA Library or from open sources on your computer, tablet, iPhone or Android smartphone. Access the web version here, and learn more about both the app and BrowZine features via the Library guide. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scientific, technical, and scholarly journals published by Wiley-Blackwell, including titles in art & applied arts and communication & media studies.
- Find Journals at UCLATwo ways to search: Enter a journal title in the search box.
Use the Journals by category option to browse journals by broad subject category. - Free-access, digitised art, architecture, design and craft journals on the InternetA designinform Research Guide that provides links to digitized journals that are freely available on the Internet.
- DOAJ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
Consult the Article Indexes and Databases page to locate articles through databases.
Additional information about locating online journals is available on the Arts Library Browsing Guide.
Newly Received
Avant-Garde and Architecture in Czechoslovakia 1909-1938Available at https://primarysources.brillonline.com/browse/avant-garde-and-architecture-in-czechoslovakia-1909-1938
Not only are there important writings by Karel Teige, but some of the covers were also designed by him.
"This collection, earlier published in a microfiche collection by IDC Publishers, makes available a number of leading periodicals and monographs with special importance for the study of the Czechoslovak avant-garde and architecture in the period before the Second World War. It gives an excellent picture of developments during this period."
Related Subject Guides
UCLA Resources
- UCLA RemapExplores "new enriching cultural forms and empowering social situations enabled by the thoughtful interweaving of engineering, the arts and community development."
- UCLA Art | Sci Center + Lab"Dedicated to pursuing and promoting the evolving “Third Culture” by facilitating the infinite potential of collaborations between (media) arts and (bio/nano) sciences."
- UCLA Game LabA "research center at the University of Los Angeles California. It is supported by the School of the Arts and Architecture and the School of Theater, Film and Television."