Warsaw, Poland
Image: Gissel Rios, Selection and Outreach Support Assistant
Research Guides for the Caucasus
Research Guides for Slavic and Eastern European Studies
- Czech Republic — Alena Aissing
- Digital Resources for Eastern Europe, Central Asia and the Caucasus — Alena Aissing
- European Film — Diana King, Alena Aissing
- Hungarian Studies — Alena Aissing
- Karel Čapek — Alena Aissing
- Opening the Doors to Contemporary Literature - Alena Aissing, Gissel Rios, and Shannon Tanhayi Ahari
- Polish History and Culture — Alena Aissing
- Protest and Politics in Belarus — Alena Aissing
- Slavic and East European Studies — Alena Aissing
Research Guides for Western European Studies
- Dutch Studies — Shannon Tanhayi Ahari
- European Film — Diana King and Shannon Tanhayi Ahari
- French Studies — Shannon Tanhayi Ahari
- German Studies — Shannon Tanhayi Ahari
- Italian Studies — Shannon Tanhayi Ahari
- Scandinavian Studies — Shannon Tanhayi Ahari
- Scandinavian Literature — Shannon Tanhayi Ahari
- Spanish and Portuguese Studies — Head of International and Area Studies, Interim
Europe
Scope
What we collect:
Explore the UCLA Library's Armenian collection, a repository rich in Armenian heritage. This collection features ancient manuscripts chronicling Armenia's history, illuminated manuscripts showcasing artistry, and contemporary works reflecting modern Armenian identity and the diaspora experience. Whether you are a scholar, history enthusiast, or simply curious, this collection offers a window into Armenia's enduring legacy and cultural richness. This collection supports the academic programs offered by the UCLA Department of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures - Armenian Studies.
We offer basic collection for Azerbaijan and Georgia.
Countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia
Languages: all national languages, and selected minority languages
Departments:
UCLA Department of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures - Armenian Studies
UCLA The Promise Armenian Institute
Contact:
Alena Aissing, Librarian/Curator for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies
Nora Avetyan, Armenian and Persian Catalog Librarian
Out of Scope
What we do not collect: Ottoman/Turkey - materials from and about Turkey.
Contact: Sohaib Baig: Middle East, South Asian and Islamic Studies Librarian
Scope
What we collect:
The UCLA Library's Eastern European Collections is a diverse repository offering the history, culture, and heritage of Central and Eastern Europe. The collection provides access to the region's multifaceted narratives and encompasses literary classics, philosophical texts, and artistic expressions in languages like Polish, Russian, Czech, and Hungarian. These materials illuminate the profound influence of Eastern European thought on global literature and intellectual discourse. The collection policy aims to acquire research materials in various formats and languages related to the Humanities and Social Sciences, reflecting the richness of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian studies.
The Collection Policy of the Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies Section of UCLA Library is to acquire material of research value in all formats published in all Slavic and East European languages covering subjects in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Countries: Albania; Belarus; Bosnia & Herzegovina; Bulgaria; Croatia; Czech Republic; Estonia; Hungary; Kosovo; Latvia; Lithuania; Moldova; Montenegro; North Macedonia; Poland; Romania; Russia; Serbia; Slovakia; Slovenia; Ukraine
Languages: all national languages, and selected minority languages
Department:
UCLA Department for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Languages and Cultures
UCLA Center for European and Russian Studies
Contact: Alena Aissing: Librarian/Curator for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies
Out of Scope
What we do not collect: none
Contact:
Scope
What we collect: monographs, serials, and other print and electronic resources on the life, history, cultures, languages, and literature of the region's peoples and diasporas
Countries: Denmark, Faroe Islands, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden
Languages: all national and minority languages
Contact: Shannon K. Tanhayi Ahari, Librarian/Curator for European Studies
Out of Scope
What we do not collect:
Contact:
Scope
What we collect: Monographs, serials, and other print and electronic resources on the life, history, cultures, languages, and literature of the region's peoples and diasporas
Countries: Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Portugal, San Marino, Spain, Switzerland
Languages: all national and minority languages
Contact: Shannon K. Tanhayi Ahari, Librarian/Curator for European Studies
Out of Scope
What we do not collect: Republic of Ireland, United Kingdom
Contact: Michelle Brasseur, Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian