Music Librarian
Other Music LibGuides
- Jazz ResearchResearch resources for jazz and all its styles: ragtime, blues, bebop, cool, etc.
Core Music Databases
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text.
- Music Industry DataInternational popular music chart data with sample sound files of many songs.
- DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) This link opens in a new windowRecordings and scholarly resources on modern and contemporary American art music ("new music").
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Music This link opens in a new windowAnnotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Music. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources, including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001) and updates.
Subject Headings
Search these subject headings for books in the UCLA Library Catalog.
Hip-hop in motion pictures
Music--Philosophy and aesthetics
Music--Social aspects
Music videos--social aspects
Popular music--Periodicals
Sound--Recording and reproducing
Sound recordings--Social aspects
Texts to Consider
Music & Law
- Music Law Updates"This resource aims to give a brief overview of developments in Intellectual Property Law and other areas of law relevent to the music and entertainment industries."
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
Core Popular Music Periodicals
Music Audio-Visual Materials
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio recordings of mostly classical music from Naxos, Marco Polo, Da Capo, and several other major labels.
- Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new windowStreaming access to jazz recordings from Naxos, Fantasy, and other major labels.
- Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
The Digital Concert Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra transmits the concerts of the Berlin philharmonic orchestra to the internet for registered users to access on demand. Users must register as an Institutional User at the site for access.
- Medici.tv This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a high definition video library of performances, concerts, recitals, and documentaries in classical music, opera, dance, and jazz.
- Met Opera on Demand: Student Edition This link opens in a new window
Online streaming access to more than 650 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances.
- Full List of Online Audio DatabasesFrom Music and Sound Recordings at UCLA research guide.