This is the "Key Resources" page of the "Music: Jazz Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music: Jazz Research   Tags: african american, music library, popular music  

How to research jazz music and musicians.
Last Updated: Oct 14, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.ucla.edu/jazz Print Guide RSS Updates

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This guide helps you to do research on jazz, both the people and the music.

The pages of this guide help you to find articles and journals, books (both print and online), and recordings (CDs, LPs, and online). The Sources and Special Materials tab helps you find rare and special collections materials.

 

Cyrus Chestnut

UCLA Performing Arts Special Collections. James Arkatov Collection of Jazz Photographs.

 

Help with Your Research

You can email the author of this guide for help with your research topic or in using the UCLA Libraries. You can also come to the Music Library and ask for help at the desk. At the top of this guide you can also click on Questions to use general email, chat, and phone reference.

Key Journals

Current issues of journals are on the shelf in the Music Library reading room. Back issues are on the shelves upstairs under the call number.

Annual Review of Jazz Studies (1983 - present). ML 1.A56. Online in MPA (1996-)

Down Beat (1932 - present). ML 1.D75. Some issues are on microfilm only. Online in MPA (1996-)

Jazz Education Journal (1983 to 2007).ML 1.N213. Online in MPA (1998-2007).

Jazz Perspectives. (2007 - present). Online from Taylor & Francis .

Jazziz. (1990 to present). ML 3505.8.J427  Online from MPA (1998 - ).
Last 12 issues not available online.

Journal of Popular Music Studies. (1993-) ML 3469.J69. Online from Wiley Online Library.

Popular Music. ML 5.P66. Online (2000- ) Online from Cambridge. (1981-2008) and JSTOR.

Popular Music and Society. ML 1.P819. (1971- ) Online from Taylor and Francis (1997- )

You can view a complete list of magazines and journals about jazz at UCLA by searching the UCLA Library Catalog. Change the search type from Keyword to Subject and enter Jazz Periodicals in the search box. (There are 56.) You can do the same in Next Generation Melvyl by doing an Advanced Search.This will give a list of jazz magazines and journals within at all UC libraries.

      

    Key Books, Bibliographies, and Reference Sources

    Grove Music Online.
    Incorporates and Updates: The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
    Online and at Ref ML 102 .J3N48 2002
    This is a good place to start. The articles on jazz and jazz musicians provide bibliographies: lists of the most significant books and articles on the topic.

    Contemporary Musicians.
    Online and at Ref ML385 .C668.
    A large multi-volume set providing brief biographical information, album and song lists, and bibliographies (and a photo!) for thousands of popular musicians and bands. Some you will not find any where else. The last volume indexes the whole set.

    Jazz Research and Pedagogy: A Research and Information Guide. (3rd Ed.)
    Ref ML 128.J3M34 2005

    The Cambridge Companion to Jazz.
    ML 3506.C29 2002

    All Music Guide to Jazz.
    ML 156.4 .J3A45 2002

    The Rough Guide to Jazz.
    ML 3506 .C37 2004

    Jazz: The First Century.
    ML 3506 .J47 2000

    Introduction to Jazz History (6th Ed.)
    ML 3506 .M43 2004

    A New History of Jazz. (Rev. Ed.)
    ML 3506 .S47 2007

    Jazz: An Introduction to the Legends and History Behind America's Music
    Powell Library ML 3508 .B58 2007

        

      Who wrote this guide?

      Profile Image
      David Gilbert
      Contact Info
      UCLA Music Library
      Contact me at the Reference Desk: 825-4882.
      Send Email
      Subjects:
      Music

      Subject Guide

      Profile Image
      Joy Doan
      Contact Info
      UCLA Music Library
      Send Email
      Subjects:
      Music
       
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip