Film & Television Librarian
Other Film and Media Studies Guides
Core Film and Media Studies Databases
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Abstracts may be searched by word, phrase, or author. The database is updated at intervals throughout the year with both older and newer materials. - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives. - Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Cinema and Media Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
Entertainment Business and Law
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business articles database that includes books, case studies, company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text international newspapers and some industry magazines, including selected content of Hollywood Reporter. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Business Databases by CategoryFrom the UCLA Anderson School of Management Rosenfeld Library, this page lists available Library databases by category, including market research, technology, and company information. NOTE: some databases are only available to Anderson students.
Online Media Journals & Forums
All of these online journals contain emerging scholarship in media studies.
- Antenna"[A] collectively authored media and cultural studies blog committed to timely yet careful analysis of texts, news, and events from across the popular culture spectrum." Closed in 2016, but archived content still available.
- Critical Studies in Mass CommunicationFrom Taylor & Francis. UCLA has online access from 2000-present. Older issues in YRL stacks.
- Flow"an online journal of television and media studies"
- In Media Res"dedicated to experimenting with collaborative, multi-modal forms of online scholarship."
- Journal of Communication InquirySage journal, published 1974-present.
- Journal of Popular CultureIncludes many articles on popular television. Available online 1967-present.
- Media, Culture, & SocietyOnline journal from Sage, published 1979-present.
- MediascapeUCLA's journal of Cinema and Media Studies.
- Realscreen"the best in non-fiction"
- SpectatorThe University of Southern California Journal of Film and Television, available online 1997-present. Older print issues located in Arts Library.
- Television & New MediaMajor journal from Sage (2000-present).
- Transformative Works and Cultures"publishes articles about transformative works, broadly conceived; articles about media studies; and articles about the fan community."
- Film/Media Journals: SCMS ListA-Z list of recommended film and media studies journals from the Society for Cinema & Media Studies.
A Fair(y) Use Tale
Professor Eric Faden of Bucknell University created this review of copyright principles delivered through the words of characters in short Disney clips, using the maximum amount of time in each clip allowed by studio.