Quick Contact Links for Archival Materials
- UCLA Library Special Collections Request SystemAny requests to access Special Collections materials are made through Aeon, our electronic request system.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive Research and Study CenterIncludes information on using the Archive's catalog and arranging research viewing appointments at Powell Library.
General Catalogs & Finding Aids
- Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new windowFinding aids for primary source collections in all UC campuses and other contributing institutions, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.
- UCLA Library Special Collections Research GuidesLists major collections by broad topic area in UCLA Library Special Collections.
- UCLA Film & Television ArchiveThe UCLA Film & Television Archive holds over 350,000 motion pictures and 170,000 television programs, spanning the entire course of film and broadcasting history. The collection includes independent and studio-produced shorts and feature films, documentaries, local and network TV programming, commercials, news and public affairs broadcasts, LGBTQIA media, and 27 million feet of newsreels produced between 1919 and 1971.
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowDatabase of archival collection descriptions from OCLC, including hundreds of libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
In the Advanced Search, users can limit to "Archival Materials"
- National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)Gateway for searching OCLC WorldCat manuscripts.
Other Local Archives
- Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new windowFinding aids for primary source collections in all UC campuses and other contributing institutions, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.
- June L. Mazer Lesbian ArchivesLocated in West Hollywood, the Mazer collection is the only archive on the West Coast "dedicated exclusively to preserving lesbian history."
- ONE National Gay and Lesbian ArchivesLarge USC-affiliated research collection covering Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual,and Transgendered history.
- Vern and Bonnie Bullough Collection on Sex and GenderLocated at CSUN, the Bullough research collection documents the history of human sexuality, including prostitution, cross dressing, homosexuality, abortion, laws relating to sexual behavior, and sex education.
Archived Web Content
Increasingly, content is "born digital," as opposed to being published or even available in a physical medium like paper. These projects seek to preserve websites, blogs, and other digital content online.
- Archive-It Web ArchivesFrom the Internet Archive and sponsoring campuses, a collection of curated web content representing organizations, social movements, etc.
- Wayback Machine (Internet Archive)If you know the URL for a website that has changed or been shut down, the Wayback machine may be able to retrieve archived versions of the content.