Getting Started
- Classical and Byzantine Studies Research GuideGeneral guide to Classical and Byzantine Studies at the UCLA Library.
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
This link opens in a new window
Online edition of this major multi-volume work on numerous aspects of religion and culture, encompassing many geographic regions. - Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient WorldThis A-to-Z encyclopedia, illustrated with many rare and revealing images, tells the stories of the famous and the ordinary, treating subjects as diverse as Greek heroine cults, the daily life of the German warrior women and the intrigue, glory and power of ancient Romeʼs imperial women.
- Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical EncyclopediaFreely available online encyclopedia from the Jewish Women's Archive, including thousands of entries and bibliographies.
Web Sources
- Diotima, Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient WorldOnline guide with primary source translations and information on women, gender, sex, sexualities, race, ethnicity, class, status, masculinity, enslavement, disability, and the intersections among them in the ancient Mediterranean world.
- Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary and secondary texts on the study of ancient Greece and Rome. Also includes images of vases, sculptures, buildings and other art and archaeological works.
Reprinted Primary Sources in Books
Beyond online databases, books often reprint primary sources, including letters, images, literature, and more. Below are some examples
The Ancient Near East: Historical Sources in Translation by ISBN: 9780631235804Date: 2006-07-21A primary source book presenting new translations of Mesopotamian and ancient Near Eastern historiographic texts, and other related materials.
The Athenian Woman: An Iconographic Handbook by ISBN: 0415232341Date: 2002-07-05Here Sian Lewis considers the full range of female existence in classical Greece - childhood and old age, unfree and foreign status, and the ageless woman characteristic of Athenian red-figure painting.
I, Claudia: Women in Ancient Rome by ISBN: 0894670751Date: 1996-01-01A comprehensive study of the lives of Roman women as revealed in Roman art. It concentrates on the evidence provided by portraits, reliefs, wall-paintings, architecture and decorative arts.
Readings in the History of the Ancient World by ISBN: 0030841720Date: 1970-01-01Includes content on:
History and historians : Greek and Roman -- Mesopotamia and Syria -- Egypt -- Hellas before the Persian wars -- Hellas in the fifth century -- Hellas in the fourth century -- Alexander and the Hellenistic age -- Early Rome and Italy -- Rome and the Mediterranean world -- The Roman revolution -- The age of Augustus -- The early Rome empire -- The later Roman empire.
Women and Society in Greek and Roman Egypt: A Sourcebook by ISBN: 9780521582124Date: 1998-11-26A selection of over three hundred texts translated from Greek and Egyptian, as well as more than fifty illustrations, documenting the lives of women within this society, from queens to priestesses, property-owners to slave-girls, from birth through motherhood to death.
Women and Society in the Roman World: A Sourcebook of Inscriptions from the Roman West by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781316536087Date: 2020-11-06By their social and material context as markers of graves, dedications and public signs of honour, inscriptions offer a distinct perspective on the social lives, occupations, family belonging, mobility, ethnicity, religious affiliations, public honour and legal status of Roman women ranging from slaves and freedwomen to women of the elite and the imperial family, both in Rome and in Italian and provincial towns.
Women's Letters from Ancient Egypt, 300 BC-AD 800 by ISBN: 9780472115068Date: 2006-12-30This work includes the private letters of ancient women in Egypt, from Alexander the Great to the Arab conquest.
Women's Writing of Ancient Mesopotamia: An Anthology of the Earliest Female Authors by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781107052055Date: 2017-11-02Women's Writing of Ancient Mesopotamia presents fresh and engaging translations of works that were composed or edited by female scribes and elite women of the ancient Near East. These texts provide insight into the social status, struggles, and achievements of women during the earliest periods of recorded human history (c.2300-540 BCE).
