Magazine Archives Online
These online magazine archives offer cover-to-cover digitized editions of historical magazines. Note that they do not always include the most recent issues.
- American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers the colonial period through the 20th century, and includes unusual and short-lived magazines as well as better-known titles with long runs. Topics encompass a broad spectrum including agriculture, anthropology, art, archaeology, education, family life, fashion, industrialization, literature, medicine, music, photography, politics, religion, science, sport, and temperance. UCLA provides access to Parts I-VII. - American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published between 1741 and 1900, these periodicals include special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children and women magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals. - Architectural Digest Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers magazine issues from 1922-2011. This archive edition covers the history of design, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years. Also features the AD100, the Architectural Digest list of top 100 architects and interior designers worldwide. - Atlantic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014, covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary. It includes more than 1,800 issues providing a broad view of 19th, 20th and early 21st-Century American thought. - Bloomberg Businessweek Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Bloomberg Businessweek archive contains the full text of Businessweek from its first issue in September 1929 to December 2000. - British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. - Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials from the 20th and 21st century, including photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material. Includes the full run of Dance Magazine from 1927-present. - Ebony Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014. - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- Esquire Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Esquire Magazine Archive, 1933-2014, delivers coverage of the award-winning American men’s magazine in the areas of politics, men’s fashion, entertainment, fiction and pop culture. It includes more than 900 issues providing a broad view of 20th-Century American thought through cultural and current events. - Forbes Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Forbes Magazine Archive is the world’s only complete digital version of the Forbes backfile. With coverage starting at the magazine’s first issue in 1917, the archive offers 70 years’ worth of content not available on any other EBSCO full-text product. - Fortune Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fortune Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the long-running business magazine dating from its very first issue in February 1930 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. - Harper's Weekly 1857-1912 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912, one of the most important weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century. - Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 1000 open access alternative publications from the 1960s-1980s covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, LGBTQ+ activists, and more.
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s to more recent years. Includes many of the most influential, long-running 20th/21st-century magazines in this field, including The Advocate. UCLA subscribes to Collection 1 of this database. - Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable scanned issues of Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody, a popular weekly mass entertainment magazine covering word affairs, daily life, art, stories, and other features. - Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. - Maclean's Magazine Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maclean’s Magazine Archive, 1905-2015, is a digital collection of the leading Canadian news and general interest magazine. Providing a unique perspective on national and international news and culture, the magazine covers investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economics, technology and more. - Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFreely available online portal, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
- Music Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
These rarely collected, Rock, Folk and Hip Hop, widely scattered, and now sought after publications present a unique record of popular culture, music journalism, and social and political transition in the late 20th century, making them invaluable primary sources to researchers. - National Review Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Review Archive offers complete indexing, abstracting and full text for the magazine from the first issue in 1955 to the present. National Review is an important American journal of conservative opinion with editorial commentary on critical issues.
- Newsweek Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of Newsweek magazine, with coverage from 1933 through 2012. It comprises 80 years of news reporting and commentary, charting key US and global events during this period. - Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers periodicals representing nineteenth-century journalism, sourced from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland and other specialist libraries, UCLA subscribes to Series 1 on New Readerships and Series 2 on Empire. - People Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection of the prominent, popular entertainment magazine dating from its very first issue in March 1974 through December 2000, in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. - Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the popular sports magazine dating from its very first issue in August 1954 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. - Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. - U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive (1926-1984) covers the magazine from the beginning of its three predecessor titles. The magazine features a broad variety of topics in current events, politics and business, and is well known for its ranked lists of businesses and institutions. - Vanity Fair Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Presents the popular magazine in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format, dating from its very first run from September 1913-1936, and relaunch from March 1983-October 2015. Chronicles popular culture, fashion, celebrity portraiture, politics, and more. - Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day. - Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains historical backfiles of several leading consumer magazines: Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, Town and Country, Woman's Day, and Women's International Network News. UCLA has access to collections 1 and 2 of this database. - Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive of the fashion trade magazine Women's Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months. Contains all content, including covers and advertisements.
