Online Historical Newspapers
UCLA subscribes to a number of databases with historical newspaper content. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black NewspapersSearch all historical African American newspapers from Proquest to which UCLA subscribes.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2020. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present]. Contains the former Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1923) from the database Historical Newspapers Online.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, covering 1849-2014 of the paper. For access to current issues, see Chicago Tribune [1985-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution This link opens in a new window
The Atlanta Constitution offers full page and article images with searchable full text from 1868-1984. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new windowDigitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. Previously titled American Indian Newspapers.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersDigital project from the Library of Congress including online access to newspapers published from between 1690-present. Search newspaper pages digitized through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowCompilation of hundreds of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowPrimary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Good for early technology like the kinetoscope.
- Old Fulton Post CardsIn addition to digitized post cards, this site also contains searchable New York State historical newspapers. These include the New York Clipper and other titles useful for research on early film.
Article Databases with Historical Reviews
Databases used for finding criticism and magazine articles also often contain reviews of films, television shows, and DVDs. Below are some of the key databases with review indexing and content.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America