Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Contact Librarian
Introduction
Welcome to the UCLA Library guide for Film and Television 6A. This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, articles, reviews, and other information. Please use the tabs on this guide to find resources in different information categories.
Do not search this guide with keywords from your topic. You must click on the resources first in order to conduct searches.
If you have any questions, please (1) visit a library research help desk (in person or virtual), (2) send a question via e-mail to the UCLA Library, or (3) contact Film & Television Librarian Diana King for an appointment or e-mail reference.
Getting Started: History of the American Cinema Book Series
Not sure where to start? These links provide access to each volume of Charles Musser's History of the American Cinema, available online, which contains a wealth of information on decades of cinema history. The set is also available in a print edition at the Arts and Powell Libraries.
For use of the online version at home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access if you do not live on campus.
Selected E-book Collections
- E-books on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
UCLA subscribes to about 1200 e-books on this site, mostly in the social sciences, humanities, and business. Full downloading requires creation of an EBSCOhost account.
- ProQuest E-book Central This link opens in a new windowUCLA selectively licenses individual e-book titles from E-book Central. Titles are searchable from the ProQuest platform and in the UCLA Library Catalog. Formerly called ebrary.
- Directory of Open Access Books2236 Academic peer-reviewed open access books from 75 publishers across all subjects.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- MIT Press Direct E-books, 1943-2021 This link opens in a new windowThousands of e-books from MIT Press, including works in arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences disciplines.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Handbooks, now a part of Oxford Academic, provide review articles which summarize and analyze current research and trends in a given discipline. UCLA subscribes to most Oxford Handbooks Online, excluding a few individual titles.
- Project Muse E-booksUCLA has access to only a small percentage of Project Muse e-books. Search and browse available books at this link.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowHandbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate and other imprints. Some CRC Press handbooks can also be accessed via this particular site.
- Taylor & Francis E-books This link opens in a new windowE-books from Routledge, Psychology Press, and Focal Press, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of the available titles. Also includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection.
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 This link opens in a new windowOnline access to over 2000 University of California Press books covering a range of topics. More recent online publications from UC Press can be searched for in the UCLA Library Catalog. On the Advanced Search screen, search for University of California Press in Publication Information and limit to online. Formerly eScholarship Editions.
- UC Press Luminos This link opens in a new windowDownloadable open access e-books available from the University of California Press.
- Wiley eBooks 2011-presentIncludes books published 2011-present by Wiley books. Books designated as textbooks are not included, while selected books designated as reference works are available.
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies