Secondary Source Journal and Magazine Article Databases
The article databases below index contemporary articles of criticism and history on film-related topics. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes contemporary major journals across multiple disciplines, and includes selected full text content. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives. - Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964. - Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
Historic Entertainment Magazines Online
For primary source film magazines and trade periodicals, these databases now include a number of titles from specific years.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From Proquest, this digital archive includes complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000 (some titles are still being added to the database). Includes Variety, Screen International, Picturegoer, and more. - Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFreely available online portal, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
- Box Office MagazineIncludes online scans to selected issues of Box Office and Box Office Pro, from 1925-present.
Selected Historical Trade Magazines at UCLA
These titles are sometimes housed in the Arts Library Cage, and need to be paged from the circulation desk for viewing.
Selected Historical Fan Magazines at UCLA
These titles are sometimes housed in the Arts Library Cage, and need to be paged from the circulation desk for viewing.