Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Librarian
Selected Images
Birds Eye View of Los Angeles
From Collection of California Postcards, UCLA Library Digital Collections
Three houses in African American neighborhood on E Adams Blvd in Los Angeles, Calif., 1962
From Los Angeles Times Photographic Collection, UCLA Library Digital Collections
Hillside view of Chavez Ravine, Los Angeles
From Los Angeles Daily News Negatives, UCLA Library Digital Collections
Street scene at Central Avenue and 12th St., Los Angeles, 1947
From Miriam Matthews Photograph Collection, UCLA Library Digital Collections
Introduction and Scope
This research guide was created in 2024 by Riona Tsai and Lane Goldszer. The guide covers the topics of displacement and gentrification broadly. Geographically this guide is focused on the US and Southern California. Some of the topics and areas that intersect with gentrification will also be found on other guides on Urban Planning and Geography.
- Gentrification and Neighborhood Revitalization: WHAT’S THE DIFFERENCE?From National Low Income Housing Coalition
- Understanding Gentrification and DisplacementFrom The Uprooted Project
- What are Gentrification and Displacement?From Urban Displacement Project
- What Does 'Gentrification' Really Mean?By Miriam Axel-Lute
Handbook of Gentrification Studies by 
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781785361739Date: 2018-04-27This Handbook is a critical and authoritative assessment of the field. Although the Handbook does not seek to rehearse the classic literature on gentrification from the 1970s to the 1990s in detail, it is referred to in the new assessments of the field gathered in this volume. The Handbook covers processes of gentrification in the global north and the global south. It also looks at different mutations of gentrification and pays proper attention to both resistance to gentrification and the importance of thinking about alternatives.
The Handbook of Displacement by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9783030471781Date: 2020This Handbook provides the knowledge and tools needed to understand how displacement is lived, governed, and mediated as an unfolding and grounded process bound up in spatial inequities of power and injustice.
Related Research Guides
UC Library Search
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies