Skip to main content

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Access to Print Resources (as of 3/20/20)

 

As part of UCLA's transition to remote instruction, and the Library's necessary decision to close all Library locations, access to print resources and special collections is not available. Please take advantage of electronic resources such as ebooks and article databases. The UCLA community can connect to these online resources off-campus via the VPN or proxy server. Interlibrary loan is still available for electronic journal articles; however, ebooks cannot be borrowed on interlibrary loan.

For help with any of our resources, please schedule an appointment with a librarian (audio/video Zoom appointments available), contact your subject librarian directly, or use our 24/7 chat service.    

    

GIS in the UCLA Library

Are  you doing GIS research? Have you ever considered that your research might have a spatial perspective or angle that you would like to investigate? This research guide provides a great starting point for learning more about the GIS and geospatial resources available to you while at UCLA.

The Charles E. Young Research Library provides access to a diverse set of software, data, tools, databases, and other research support for GIS and geospatial research. 

The Henry J. Bruman Map Collection's UCLA Centennial Celebration

The UCLA Centennial 2019 story map uses words, historical pictures, maps, archival documents, and graphical mapping tools to tell an interactive story about changes that have taken place at the UCLA Campus during first 100 years. It explores collections that span a variety of resources and formats presenting the UCLA Campus from 1919 to 2019. Most maps presented in this story are part of the UCLA Henry J. Bruman Map Collection.

Click the image to view the Centennial Story Map

Quick Start

Spatial Analysis

GIS Tutorials